

Legislation Text

File #: 220799, Version: 0

220799
ORIGINAL
171461
ALD. BORKOWSKI, COGGS AND SPIKER
Resolution relating to the Anti-Bullying Task Force.
This resolution dissolves the Anti-Bullying Task Force that was created in 2018 and creates a new 13
-member Anti-Bullying Task Force in cooperation with the Milwaukee Public Schools. The Anti-Bullying Task Force will investigate matters related to bullying incidents in Milwaukee Public Schools for the purpose of improving student and staff safety.
Whereas, On February 6th, 2018, the Common Council adopted File Number 171461, a resolution creating a 13-member Anti-Bullying Task Force in cooperation with Milwaukee Public Schools; and

Whereas, The Anti-Bullying Task Force was tasked with meeting on a determined schedule, investigating bullying-related matters, devising a strategy to combat bullying, and submitting a report of its findings within 180 days; and,

Whereas, The Anti-Bullying Task Force did not meet or complete its assigned tasks; and

Whereas, Bullying and harassment create an unsafe environment in schools, interfering with students' ability to succeed in a safe environment and to benefit from school instruction, programs and activities; and

Whereas, It is in the public interest to assure all students and staff that every person is valued and respected, regardless of perceived differences; and

Whereas, It is also in the public interest to provide safe learning environments for children, free from harassment, intimidation and bullying; now, therefore, be it

Resolved, By the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee, that File Number 171461, a resolution to the creation of an Anti-Bullying Task Force, is rescinded, and, be it

Further Resolved That an Anti-Bullying Task Force is created and shall consist of the following:

- 1. The Chairperson of the Milwaukee Public Schools' District Advisory Council Anti-Bullying Committee, who shall be the chair of the Anti-Bullying Task Force.
- 2. Two members appointed by the Task Force chairperson.
- 3. Three members appointed by the chairperson of the Common Council's Public Safety and Health Committee.
- 4. Seven members appointed by the Common Council President.

; and, be it

Further Resolved, That the Anti-Bullying Task Force shall meet on a schedule to be determined by the chairperson; and, be it

Further Resolved, That the Anti-Bullying Task Force shall investigate matters related to bullying incidents in Milwaukee Public Schools for the purpose of improving student and staff safety; and, be it

Further Resolved, That the Anti-Bullying Task Force shall work in concert with the Milwaukee Public Schools' District Advisory Committee Anti-Bullying Committee to devise a comprehensive strategy to combat bullying behaviors in Milwaukee Public Schools; and, be it

Further Resolved, That the Anti-Bullying Task Force shall submit a report of its findings to the Common Council no later than 180 days after passage of this resolution.

LRB 170482-1 Gunnar Raasch 9/12/2022