

Legislation Text

File #: 211254, Version: 0

IMMEDIATE ADOPTION

211254 ORIGINAL 191106 ALD. HAMILTON

Resolution amending the membership of the Community Collaborative Commission.

This resolution amends the membership of the Community Collaborative

Commission by removing the Executive Director of the Hmong American Women's Association, the Executive Director of Voces de la Frontera and the Executive Director of the Milwaukee Islamic Dawah Center. These organizations have stated that they do not intend to continue as a part of the Commission, and the Commission has determined that removing these members will enhance the Commission's ability to routinely achieve quorum during meetings. The resolution also replaces the Executive Director of the Milwaukee LGBT Community Center, who no longer wants to continue as a part of the Commission, with an officer from a local LGBTQ advocacy organization, appointed by the Common Council President.

Whereas, The Community Collaborative Commission was created by Common Council File Number 191106 on April 14, 2020, for the purpose of providing a forum for

and solicit community input regarding law enforcement policies, procedures and practices in Milwaukee, particularly with respect to the treatment of members of minority, LGBTQ, disabled and other historically underserved and underrepresented communities; and

Whereas, The Commission has determined that the Hmong American Women's Association, Voces de la Frontera, Milwaukee LGBT Community Center and Milwaukee Islamic Dawah Center do not intend to continue as members of the Commission; and

Whereas, The Commission has determined that removing these inactive members will enhance the Commission's ability to routinely achieve quorum during regular meetings; now, therefore, be it

Resolved, By the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee, that Common Council Resolution File Number 191106, adopted on January 18, 2017, is amended by:

1. Deleting the "Further Resolved" clause and replacing it with the following:

"Further Resolved, That the membership of the Community Collaborative Commission shall be as follows:

- 1. Three members to be appointed by the President of the Common Council.
- 2. A member to be appointed by the Mayor.
- 3. The President of the Milwaukee chapter of the NAACP, or his or her designee.
- 4. The Director of the African-American Round Table, or his or her designee.
- 5. One plaintiff of the Collins, et al., v. City of Milwaukee, et al., lawsuit, or plaintiff's designee, to

be appointed by the American Civil Liberties Union of Wisconsin.

6. The Executive Director of the Southside Organizing Center, or his or her designee.

7. The President of Independence First, or his or her designee.

8. The President of Pathfinders, or his or her designee.

9. The Director of The Asha Project, or his or her designee.

10. An officer from a local LGBTQ advocacy organization, appointed by the President of the Common Council, or his or her designee.

11. A member with academic expertise in police-community relations or community engagement, to be appointed by the President of the Common Council. This member shall not have been a City employee or City contractor for two years prior to appointment.

; and, be it"

Community Collaborative Commission Christopher Hillard LRB 177068-2 10/25/2021