

Legislation Text

File #: 081442, Version: 2

081442 SUBSTITUTE 2

ALD. HINES, MURPHY AND KOVAC

Substitute resolution creating an economic stimulus task force.

This resolution establishes an 11-member City of Milwaukee Economic Stimulus Task Force to implement funding of various City projects in accordance with the federal American Recovery and Reinvestment Act.

Whereas, Cities, states and countries around the globe have been experiencing the worst economic downturn since the Great Depression; and

Whereas, In order to "jump-start" the United States' faltering economy, President Barack Obama and Congress have enacted a \$787 billion federal economic stimulus package to dispense funding to states and localities for projects including but not limited to housing, economic development, job creation, public safety, education, health, infrastructure and environmental sustainability; and

Whereas, The federal stimulus bill, known as the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act, designates spending in over 130 different state and federal programs, with the majority of funds flowing through existing state programs and utilizing existing formulas; and

Whereas, In December 2008, Milwaukee Mayor Tom Barrett submitted a preliminary list of proposed City stimulus projects and spending priorities to then President-Elect Obama's Transition Team and to the Wisconsin Congressional Delegation for their consideration, attached to this file; and

Whereas, Federal stimulus funds are critical to the City of Milwaukee's ability to create and preserve family supporting jobs, strengthen the economy, and ensure long-lasting benefits to the community at large; and

Whereas, The State of Wisconsin anticipates receiving approximately \$3.5 billion in stimulus aid, and although it has not yet been determined what share of that amount may be allocated to the City of Milwaukee, it is in the City's best interest to be prepared to act swiftly to utilize its share of stimulus aid as it becomes available; and

Whereas, A coordinated effort among Milwaukee's Mayor, his Administration, the Common Council, all City departments, and other key stakeholders in the public and private sector is necessary to maximize the benefit of any stimulus aid to the City; now, therefore, be it

Resolved, By the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee, that a City of Milwaukee Economic Stimulus Task Force is created, comprised of the following 11 members or their designees:

1. Mayor.

- 2. Common Council President.
- 3. Common Council's Finance and Personnel Committee Chairperson.
- 4. Common Council's Community and Economic Development Committee Chairperson.
- 5. Administration Director, Department of Administration.
- 6. Budget and Management Director, Budget and Management Division-Department of Administration.
- 7. Commissioner-Public Works, Department of Public Works.
- 8. Commissioner-City Development, Department of City Development.
- 9. Comptroller.
- 10. Director, Milwaukee Area Workforce Investment Board.
- 11. Representative, Wisconsin Supplier Development Council.

; and, be it

Further Resolved, That the duties and responsibilities of the Economic Stimulus Task Force shall include, but not be limited to, making legal, administrative and policy recommendations to the Common Council, through the appropriate Council committees, to expedite the implementation of various City projects utilizing stimulus funding; and, be it

Further Resolved, That the City Clerk's Office shall staff the Economic Stimulus Task Force and that all City departments are directed to assist the task force and the Common Council as necessary to ensure the timely and most beneficial use of stimulus funds for City projects.

MCW-LRB LRB09064-2 03/3/2009