

## City of Milwaukee

200 E. Wells Street Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202

## **Legislation Text**

File #: 080313, Version: 2

080313 SUBSTITUTE 2

ALD. BAUMAN, KOVAC, BOHL, MURPHY, HINES AND WADE Substitute resolution relating to the composition of the Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission.

This resolution:

- 1. Authorizes and directs the Intergovernmental Relations Division-Department of Administration to seek introduction and passage of state legislation changing the composition of a regional planning commission containing a city of the first class such that membership on the commission is proportional to the populations of member counties.
- 2. Expresses the City of Milwaukee's opposition to Federal Highway Administration recertification of the Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission as the Metropolitan Planning Organization for Southeastern Wisconsin in its current format and organizational structure.
- 3. In the event the state legislature does not pass legislation changing the composition of a regional planning commission containing a city of the first class such that membership is proportional to county populations, urges Milwaukee County to withdraw from membership and participation in the Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission Whereas, In 1960, the Wisconsin Legislature created the Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission ("SEWRPC"), an agency charged with performing comprehensive planning activities for a 7-county region that includes Milwaukee, Waukesha, Racine, Kenosha, Washington, Ozaukee and Walworth counties; and

Whereas, Pursuant to s. 66.0309, Wis. Stats., SEWRPC is governed by a 21-member commission consisting of 3 members from each of the 7 counties in the region; and

Whereas, This governing structure is fundamentally unfair in that it gives counties with relatively low populations disproportionately large representation on the commission; and

Whereas, At the same time, the 3-members-per-county configuration results in underrepresentation of counties and municipalities with large populations, thus reducing the likelihood that the needs and interests of urban communities will be given fair and adequate attention by the commission; and

Whereas, Milwaukee County, with over 47% of the region's population, is allocated only 14% of the votes on the commission, while the City of Milwaukee, with 30% of the region's population, is afforded no votes whatsoever; and

Whereas, Ozaukee and Walworth counties, which together account for 9% of the SEWRPC region's population, have 29% of the votes on the commission; and

Whereas, In 2007, Milwaukee County paid \$834,000 (35.2%) of the \$2,370,000 in property tax levies collected by SEWRPC from its 7 member counties; and

Whereas, These statistics clearly demonstrate that SEWRPC's organizational structure is a classic example of taxation without representation; and

Whereas, The City of Milwaukee, Milwaukee County and other populous municipalities and counties in Southeastern Wisconsin would benefit from a restructuring of the composition of SEWRPC based on the concept of proportional representation; now, therefore, be it

Resolved, By the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee, that the Intergovernmental Relations Division-Department of Administration is authorized and directed to seek introduction and passage of state legislation changing the composition of a regional planning commission containing a city of the first class such that membership on the commission is proportional to the populations of member counties; and, be it

Further Resolved, That the City of Milwaukee opposes Federal Highway Administration recertification of the Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission as the Metropolitan Planning Organization for Southeastern Wisconsin in its current format and organizational structure; and, be it

Further Resolved, That, in the event the state legislature does not pass legislation changing the composition of a regional planning commission containing a city of the first class such that membership is proportional to county populations, the City of Milwaukee urges Milwaukee County to withdraw from membership and participation in the Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission; and, be it

Further Resolved, That upon adoption of this resolution, the City Clerk shall send copies of the resolution to County Executive Scott Walker, all members of the Milwaukee County Board, Milwaukee's representatives in the state legislature and the Federal Highway Administration.

LRB08310-5 JDO 10/28/2008