

City of Milwaukee

200 E. Wells Street Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 201519 **Version**: 0

Type: Resolution-Immediate Status: Passed

Adoption

File created: 3/23/2021 In control: COMMON COUNCIL

On agenda: Final action: 3/23/2021

Effective date:

Title: Resolution relating to the creation of an MPD Diversion Task Force.

Sponsors: ALD. LEWIS, ALD. KOVAC, ALD. COGGS, ALD. DODD

Indexes: MPD DIVERSION TASK FORCE

Attachments:

| Date | Ver. | Action By | Action | Result | Tally |
|-----------|------|----------------|---------------------|--------|-------|
| 3/23/2021 | 0 | COMMON COUNCIL | ADOPTED | Pass | 15:0 |
| 4/6/2021 | 0 | MAYOR | RETURNED NOT SIGNED | | |

IMMEDIATE ADOPTION

201519 ORIGINAL 200632

ALD. LEWIS, KOVAC AND COGGS

Resolution relating to the creation of an MPD Diversion Task Force.

This resolution creates an MPD Diversion Task Force to develop a master plan for responding to calls for service that do not involve threats to public safety,

The MPD Diversion Task Force shall be comprised of the following 17 members:

- 1. Three Common Council members representing the 3rd, 6th and 9th aldermanic districts.
- Two members employed in the Office of Violence Prevention, to be appointed by the Health Commissioner.
- 3. The Executive Director of the Fire and Police Commission.
- 4. The Director of Emergency Management and Communications.
- 5. Two members from the Police Department, to be appointed by the Chief of Police.
- 6. Two members from the Fire Department, to be appointed by the Fire Chief.
- 7. Two members employed by Milwaukee County, to be appointed by the County Executive. At least one of the two members shall be an employee of the Milwaukee County Department of Health and Human Services.
- 8. Two members of the community, to be appointed by the Common Council President.
- 9. Two members with research and academic experience and credentials relevant to the tasks of the MPD Diversion Task Force, to be appointed by the Common Council President. At least one of the two members shall be associated with the University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee Helen Bader School of Social Welfare.

Whereas, On October 13, 2020, the Common Council adopted File No. 200632, a resolution relating to establishing an unarmed first responder program in which trained, professional, unarmed first responders could serve individuals in crisis with counseling, mediation, transportation and referral to

appropriate social service resources while avoiding incident escalation and criminal sanctions; and

Whereas, File No. 200632 directed the Fire and Police Commission and the Health Department to collaborate with the Police Department and the Fire Department to develop an interim master plan for responding to calls for service that do not involve threats to public safety, particularly for those involving persons experiencing mental health, substance abuse or homelessness crises, with trained, unarmed first responders; and

Whereas, According to File No. 200632, the interim master plan shall be developed with consideration of implementation through a city, county and/or private partnership, and shall address options for operating alongside, in partnership with, or merging with, other local emergency response programs, including the City-County Trauma Response Initiative, the Milwaukee Opioid Response Initiative and the Community Paramedic Integrated Mobile Healthcare Program; now, therefore, be it

Resolved, By the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee, that an MPD Diversion Task Force is established; and, be it

Further Resolved, That the MPD Diversion Task Force shall consist of:

- 1. Three Common Council members representing the 3rd, 6th and 9th aldermanic districts.
- 2. Two members employed in the Office of Violence Prevention, to be appointed by the Health Commissioner.
- 3. The Executive Director of the Fire and Police Commission.
- 4. The Director of Emergency Management and Communications.
- 5. Two members from the Police Department, to be appointed by the Chief of Police.
- 6. Two members from the Fire Department, to be appointed by the Fire Chief.
- 7. Two members employed by Milwaukee County, to be appointed by the County Executive. At least one of the two members shall be an employee of the Milwaukee County Department of Health and Human Services.
- 8. Two members of the community, to be appointed by the Common Council President.
- 9. Two members with research and academic experience and credentials relevant to the tasks of the MPD Diversion Task Force, to be appointed by the Common Council President. At least one of the two members shall be associated with the University of Wisconsin Milwaukee Helen Bader School of Social Welfare.

; and, be it

Further Resolved, That the members of the MPD Diversion Task Force shall select the chair of the MPD Diversion Task Force; and, be it

Further Resolved, That the MPD Diversion Task Force is charged with developing a master plan for responding to calls for service that do not involve threats to public safety, particularly for those involving persons experiencing mental health, substance abuse or homelessness crises, with trained, unarmed first responders, according to the criteria set forth in Common Council File No. 200632; and, be it

Further Resolved, That the MPD Diversion Task Force shall submit a report to the Common Council of its findings and recommendations no later than 6 months after adoption of this resolution; and, be it

File #: 201519, Version: 0

Further Resolved, That the City Clerk's Office shall provide staffing support to the MPD Diversion Task Force; and, be it

Further Resolved, That all City departments are directed to support and cooperate with the work of the MPD Diversion Task Force.

LRB176550-1 Dana J. Zelazny March 9, 2021