

## City of Milwaukee

## Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	130905	Version:	2				
Туре:	Resolution			Status:	Passed		
File created:	10/15/2013			In control:	COMMON COUNCIL		
On agenda:				Final action:	6/24/2014		
Effective date:							
Title:		ubstitute resolution relating to the membership and duties of the Special Joint Committee on edevelopment of Abandoned and Foreclosed Homes.					
Sponsors:	ALD. MURPHY	ſ					
Indexes:	JOINT COMM	OINT COMMITTEE ON REDEVELOPMENT OF ABANDONED AND FORECLOSED HOMES					
Attachmente:	1 Dropood S	ubatituta A	<u>о ц</u>	oring Nation List			

Attachments: 1. Proposed Substitute A, 2. Hearing Notice List

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result	Tally
10/15/2013	0	COMMON COUNCIL	ASSIGNED TO		
6/10/2014	1	ZONING, NEIGHBORHOODS & DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE	HEARING NOTICES SENT		
6/13/2014	1	ZONING, NEIGHBORHOODS & DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE	HEARING NOTICES SENT		
6/13/2014	1	ZONING, NEIGHBORHOODS & DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE	HEARING NOTICES SENT		
6/17/2014	2	ZONING, NEIGHBORHOODS & DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE	RECOMMENDED FOR ADOPTION	Pass	4:0
6/17/2014	1	ZONING, NEIGHBORHOODS & DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE	SUBSTITUTED	Pass	4:0
6/24/2014	2	COMMON COUNCIL	ADOPTED	Pass	15:0
7/2/2014	2	MAYOR	SIGNED		
130905					

## 130905

SUBSTITUTE 2

080644, 120180

ALD. MURPHY

Substitute resolution relating to the membership and duties of the Special Joint Committee on Redevelopment of Abandoned and Foreclosed Homes.

Currently, the Special Joint Committee on Redevelopment of Vacant and Foreclosed Homes consists of 3 members appointed by the Mayor, 3 members appointed by the President of the Common Council and the City Treasurer. Under this resolution, an additional member will be appointed by the President of the Common Council.

Whereas, The Special Joint Committee on the Redevelopment of Abandoned and Foreclosed Homes (Joint Committee) was established by Common Council Resolution File Number 080644 to address the impact of the housing crisis as it moved from the sub-prime market to the prime market contributing to a global economic recession; and

Whereas, The Joint Committee was initially directed to coordinate efforts to implement programs funded under Title III of the federal Housing and Economic Recovery Act of 2008, entitled

"Emergency Assistance for the Redevelopment of Abandoned and Foreclosed Homes"; and

Whereas, The Joint Committee has continued to coordinate information and provide recommendations, direction and advice related to programs implementing federally- supported Neighborhood Stabilization Programs and other programs that succeeded initiatives begun under the Housing and Economic Recovery Act initiatives; and

Whereas, Regular meetings of the Joint Committee have provided a platform for regular and timely communications from the Department of City Development, the Department of Neighborhood Services, the Community Block Grant Administration, the Police Department, the City Attorney's Office, the Assessor's Office, the Treasurer's Office and the Legislative Reference Bureau; and

Whereas, Deliberations of the Joint Committee have resulted in the development and passage of legislation including:

1. Community Development Block Grant contingent fund appropriations of \$200,000 provided in Common Council File Number 100277 for the Police Department and the Department of Public Works for abandoned and foreclosed home stabilization efforts.

2. Common Council Resolution File 111511 directing the development and implementation of a plan for conveyance of City-owned tax-foreclosed properties to qualified tenants.

3. Contingent Fund appropriations of \$639,000 provided in Common Council Resolution File Number 130300 for preserving, managing, marketing and sale of City-owned foreclosed properties.

4. Common Council Charter Ordinance File Number 101802 and Common Council Ordinance File Number 101803 revising and clarifying the placement of charges and assessments on tax rolls and inclusion in tax installment plans.

5. Common Council Resolution File Number 130538 amending the collections contract with the Kohn Law Firm to provide for accelerated referral of delinquent property taxes for *in personam* collection.

; and

Whereas, The Department of City Development reports that, as of May 31, 2014, the City owns 1,111 improved properties as a result of *in rem* tax foreclosures, the large majority of which are residential units, many of which are in disrepair or are uninhabitable; and

Whereas, The Common Council has previously expanded the membership of the Joint committee to include the City Treasurer upon adoption of Common Council Resolution File Number 120180 to assist the Joint Committee as it responds to developing challenges affecting the City's housing and property tax base; and

Whereas, The continuing and evolving impact of the economic recession threatens the stability of neighborhoods and residential housing requiring further coordination and collaboration among City departments and offices as well as cooperation and collaboration with various agencies of county, state and federal governments and community-based organizations, associations and business; and

Whereas, The Common Council finds that it is necessary and appropriate to continue the functions

## File #: 130905, Version: 2

and activities of the Joint Committee and to expand the membership and duties of the Joint Committee to ensure the stability and vitality of housing and neighborhoods; now, therefore be it

Resolved, By the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee, that Common Council Resolution File Number 080644, adopted on September 12, 2008, as amended by Common Council Resolution File Number 120180, adopted May 22, 2012, is further amended by deleting the first "Resolved" clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

"Resolved, By the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee, that a Special Joint Committee on Redevelopment of Abandoned and Foreclosed Homes shall be established to consist of 8 members: the City Treasurer; 3 members appointed by the Mayor, one of whom shall be designated Co-Chair; and 4 members to be appointed by the President, one of whom shall be designated Co-Chair by the President."

LRB149922-3 Jeff Osterman 06/11/2014