Name: VEL R PHILLIPS TRAILBLAZER AWARD SELECTION COMMITTEE

- Type: Board or Commission
- Description: PURPOSE: The Vel R. Phillips Trailblazer Award Selection Committee is responsible for selecting recipients of the Vel R. Phillips Trailblazer Award, which recognizes City residents who best exemplify Vel R. Phillips' legacy of social justice and civic accomplishment. The award is annual and is presented at the Girls' Day event held at City Hall. The committee may accept award nominations from any common council member, member of the public, or organization.

**COMPOSITION:** Seven members: One member of the Common Council appointed by the Common Council President, one member of the CIty of Milwaukee Youth Council appointed by the Mayor, three additional members appointed by the Common Council President, and two members appointed by the Mayor. The Common Council President designates the chair and vice -chair. Appointments to this body require Common Council confirmation.

Members serve three-year terms.

A member who is not an elected official continues to serve after the completion of his or her term until reappointed or until a successor has been appointed.

CREATING AUTHORITY: Section 320-44, Milwaukee Code of Ordinances and #17149

## SALARY: n/a

STAFFING: Joanna Polanco, Office of the City Clerk, 286-2366, jpolan@milwaukee.gov

Name	Title	Start Date	End Date	
ALD. COGGS	Member	4/9/2024	4/9/2027	*
Appointed By: ALD. PI	EREZ			
Cree Ellzey	Member	2/27/2024	2/27/2027	*
Jasmine Johnson	Member	12/10/2018	12/10/2021	*
Appointed By: ALD. H.	AMILTON			
Keith Bailey	Member	1/22/2019	1/22/2022	*
Appointed By: Mayor T	om Barrett			
Michael Phillips	Member	1/8/2019	1/8/2022	*
Appointed By: ALD. H.	AMILTON			
Mildred Coby	Member	1/22/2019	1/22/2022	*
Appointed By: Mayor T	om Barrett			
Peggy Rozga	Member	12/5/2018	12/5/2021	*
Appointed By: ALD. H.	AMILTON			

## LAST UPDATED: January 10, 2019

\* indicates extended term