Name: BUSINESS IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT BOARD #25 (RIVERWORKS)

Type: Board or Commission

Description:

**PURPOSE:** Section 66.1109, Wis. Stats., allows cities to create one or more business improvement districts to develop, manage and promote the district. They are further permitted to establish an assessment method to fund the activities to be undertaken by the district. All of the foregoing are described in an annual operating plan which is prepared by the district board and approved by the Common Council. The operating plan also describes the amount of the special assessment to be levied against each property in the district.

District #25 encompasses the general area bounded by E. Hope Av., N. Port Washington Rd., N. Humboldt Blvd. and E. Auer Ave.

**COMPOSITION:** Fifteen members, appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Common Council, all of whom shall either own commercial or industrial property or operate a business within the District. Terms are for three years, staggered.

A member continues to serve after the completion of his or her term until reappointed or until a successor has been appointed.

**CREATING AUTHORITY:** Section 66.1109, Wis. Stats. and Common Council File Number 990930, as amended by 080620 and 150526.

**SALARY:** None

**STAFFING:** Ken Little, Commercial Corridor Manager, Kenneth.little@milwaukee.gov, 414-286-5617; Riverworks Development Corp., 303 E. Vienna St., 906-9650.

LAST UPDATED: January 6, 2021

Name	Title	Start Date	End Date	
VACANCY Appointed By:	Member  Mayor Tom Barrett	4/19/2016	4/20/2020	*
VACANCY	Member  Mayor Tom Barrett	4/19/2016	4/20/2020	*
Carl Nilssen Appointed By:	Member Mayor Cavalier Johnson	1/23/2023	1/23/2026	*
Cliff Wenninger Appointed By:	Member  Mayor Tom Barrett	4/23/2021	4/23/2024	*
Jocelynn Tatham Appointed By:	Member Mayor Tom Barrett	10/21/2020	10/21/2023	*
Kevin Riordan Appointed By:	Member  Mayor Tom Barrett	2/22/2021	2/22/2024	*
L.C. Whitehead Appointed By:	Member Mayor Tom Barrett	10/21/2020	10/21/2023	*

Mark Porreca	Member	1/23/2023	1/23/2026	*		
Appointed By:	Mayor Cavalier Johnson					
Meg Hopkins	Member	5/14/2018	5/14/2021	*		
Appointed By:	Mayor Tom Barrett					
Robert Smith	Member	10/21/2021	10/21/2024	*		
Appointed By:	Mayor Tom Barrett					
Sandra Woycke	Member	6/23/2021	6/23/2024	*		
Appointed By:	nted By: Mayor Tom Barrett					
Stephen Chitwoo	od Member	4/4/2020	4/4/2023	*		
Appointed By: Mayor Tom Barrett						