Name: BUSINESS IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT BOARD #5 (WESTOWN AREA)

Type: Board or Commission

Description:

PURPOSE: Section 66.1109, Wis. Stats., allows cities to create one or more business improvement districts to develop, manage and promote the district. They are further permitted to establish an assessment method to fund the activities to be undertaken by the district. All of the foregoing are described in an annual operating plan which is prepared by the district board and approved by the Common Council. The operating plan also describes the amount of the special assessment to be levied against each property in the district.

District No. 5 encompasses the Westown area generally bounded by W. State St., N. 4 St., Interstate 43 and Interstate 794.

COMPOSITION: Ten members, at least three of whom must own or occupy real property in the business improvement district. Members are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Common Council. Terms are three years, staggered.

A member continues to serve after the completion of his or her term until reappointed or until a successor has been appointed.

CREATING AUTHORITY: Section 66.1109, Wis. Stats. and Common Council File 890817 as amended by 080620.

SALARY: None.

STAFFING: Ken Little, Commercial Corridor Manager, Kenneth.little@milwaukee.gov, 414-286-5617; Ellen Winters, the Westown Association, 276-6696.

LAST UPDATED: January 6, 2021

Name	Title	Start Date	End Date	
Erica-Nciole Ha	rris Member	10/15/2020	10/15/2023	*
Appointed By:	Mayor Tom Barrett			
Jeff Sherman	Member	6/11/2021	6/11/2024	*
Appointed By:	Mayor Tom Barrett			
John Hennessy	Member	6/6/2022	6/6/2026	*
Appointed By:	Mayor Cavalier Johnson			
Keith Pups	Member	12/15/2023	12/15/2026	*
Appointed By:	Mayor Cavalier Johnson			
Kelsey Otero	Member	6/21/2024	6/21/2027	*
Appointed By:	Mayor Cavalier Johnson			
Lisa Kurszewski	Member	7/27/2022	7/27/2025	*
Appointed By:	Mayor Cavalier Johnson			
Melissa Lukic	Member	4/4/2023	4/4/2026	*
Appointed By:	Mayor Cavalier Johnson			

William Scholl Member 6/29/2022 6/29/2025 **

Appointed By: Mayor Cavalier Johnson

^{*} indicates extended term