Department Details

Department name:	BUSINESS IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT BOARD #29 (Atkinson/Capitol/Teutonia)				
Туре:	Board or Commission				
Meeting time:					
Meeting location:					
Primary contact:					
Description:	PURPOSE: Section 66.1109, Wis. Stats., allows cities to create one or more business improvement districts to develop, manage and promote the district. They are further permitted to establish an assessment method to fund the activities to be undertaken by the district. All of the foregoing are described in an annual operating plan which is prepared by the district board and approved by the Common Council. The operating plan also describes the amount of the special assessment to be levied against each property in the district.				
	District #29 encompasses the general area north and south of W. Capitol Dr. between N. 19th St. and N. 27th St.; generally east and west of N. Teutonia Ave. between W. Nash St. and W. Congress St.; and generally north and south of W. Atkinson Ave. between N. Teutonia Ave. and N. 8th St.				
	COMPOSITION: Five members, appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Common Council. At least three members must be owners or occupants of property within the District. Any non-owner or non-occupant member must be a resident of the City of Milwaukee. Members serve three-year terms, staggered. The Board elects its chair from among its members.				
	A member continues to serve after the completion of his or her term until reappointed or until a successor has been appointed.				
	CREATING AUTHORITY: Section 66.1109, Wis. Stats., and Common Council File Number 020831 as amended by 080620 and 130591				
	SALARY: None				
	STAFFING: Ken Little, Commercial Corridor Manager, Kenneth.little@milwaukee.gov, 414-286-5617; Theresa Hilber, Community Enterprises of Greater Milwaukee, 3118 N. Teutonia Ave., 265-2346				
	LAST UPDATED: April 12, 2013				
Name	Title	Start Date	End Date		

4/1/2015

*

Eloise Jones

Cherry Perkins

Appointed By: Mayor Tom Barrett

4/1/2013

Member

Member

Appointed By: Mayor T	om Barrett			
Jaclynne Lopez Appointed By: Mayor T	Member om Barrett	3/20/2013	3/20/2015	*
Tracy Polk Appointed By: Mayor T	Member om Barrett	3/4/2013	3/4/2015	*
Wanda Scruggs Appointed By: Mayor T	Member om Barrett	4/8/2013	4/8/2015	*

^{*} indicates extended term