

## City of Milwaukee

200 E. Wells Street Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202

## **Department Details**

Department name: BUSINESS IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT BOARD #11 (BRADY STREET)

Type: Board or Commission

Meeting time:

Meeting location:

Primary contact:

Description:

**PURPOSE:** Section 66.1109, Wis. Stats., allows cities to create one or more business improvement districts to develop, manage and promote the district. They are further permitted to establish an assessment method to fund the activities to be undertaken by the district. All of the foregoing are described in an annual operating plan which is prepared by the district board and approved by the Common Council. The operating plan also describes the amount of the special assessment to be levied against each property in the district. District 11 encompasses the Brady St. business area.

**COMPOSITION:** Eleven members, appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Common Council to three-year terms. A majority of these members must be owners or occupants of property within the District. Any non-owner or non-occupant member must be a resident of the City of Milwaukee.

A member who is not an elected official continues to serve after the completion of his or her term until reappointed or until a successor has been appointed.

**CREATING AUTHORITY:** Section 66.1109, Wis. Stats., and Common Council File 060754 with operating plan attached.

**SALARY:** None

**STAFFING:** Ken Little, Commercial Corridor Manager, Kenneth.little@milwaukee.gov,

414-286-5617; Brady Street BID, 272-3978

LAST UPDATED: June 7, 2019

Name	Title	Start Date	End Date	
Alaa Musa Appointed By:	Member Mayor Tom Barrett	6/26/2017	6/26/2020	*
Dane Baldwin Appointed By:	Member Mayor Tom Barrett	4/3/2019	4/3/2022	*
Jeno Cataldo Appointed By:	Member Mayor Tom Barrett	6/22/2021	6/22/2024	*
Kurt Bauer Appointed By:	Member Mayor Tom Barrett	7/12/2017	7/12/2020	*
Leroy H. Buth,	Jr. Member	10/20/2022	10/20/2025	*

Appointed By:	Mayor Cavalier Johnson			
Michael Lee Appointed By:	Member Mayor Cavalier Johnson	4/17/2024	4/17/2027	*
Michael O'Conr Appointed By:	nor Member Mayor Tom Barrett	6/22/2018	6/22/2021	*
Pat Suminski Appointed By:	Member Mayor Tom Barrett	6/27/2017	6/27/2020	*
Teri Regano Appointed By:	Member Mayor Cavalier Johnson	2/12/2024	2/12/2027	*
Timothy Sluga Appointed By:	Member Mayor Tom Barrett	2/17/2021	2/17/2024	*

<sup>\*</sup> indicates extended term