Name: BUSINESS IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT BOARD #21 (DOWNTOWN MANAGEMENT

Type: Board or Commission

Description: PURPOSE: Section 66.1109, Wis. Stats., allows cities to create one or more business

improvement districts to develop, manage and promote the district. They are further permitted to establish an assessment method to fund the activities to be undertaken by the district. All of the foregoing are described in an annual operating plan which is prepared by the district board and approved by the Common Council. The operating plan also describes the amount of the special assessment to be levied against each property in the district.

District #21 encompasses the city of Milwaukee's downtown area, bounded by N. 4th and 10th Sts. to the west; W. St. Paul Ave., the Menomonee River and W. Clybourn St. to the south; Lake Michigan to the east; and Schlitz Park to the north.

COMPOSITION: Seventeen members, all appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Common Council.

1) Three members are representatives of each of the three largest (as measured by assessed valuation) multi-tenant office buildings in the District; 2) Two members are representatives of the fourth- through ninth- largest (as measured by assessed valuation) multi-tenant office buildings in the District; 3) Three members are representatives of any multi-tenant office buildings in the District; 4) Three members are representatives of owner-occupied or singletenant buildings in the District with assessed valuations in excess of \$5,000,000 with one member of this category being a representative of the Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance Company; 5) One member must be owners or operators of street-level retail businesses located in the District (which may include restaurants), 6) Two members must be representatives of hotels located within the District, but these hotels may not be owned or controlled by the same entity or individuals, 7) One member is a representative of a tax-exempt entity making a voluntary contribution to the District of not less than \$76,850 in the year 2014, which minimum contribution increases each year by the proportionate increase in the District operating budget for that year; 8) Two members are "at large" members who may not represent any particular constituency but who must be an owners or occupants of real property located within the District used for commercial purposes. In addition to the composition requirements set forth above, one member of the Board must also be a member of the board of directors of the Westown Association as long as the Westown Association remains in existence and one member must also be a member of the board of directors of the East Town Association, as long as the East Town Association remains in existence. All members serve 3-year terms.

A member continues to serve after the completion of his or her term until reappointed or until a successor has been appointed.

CREATING AUTHORITY: Sec. 66.1109, Wis. Stats.; Common Council File Number 970900; amended by Common Council File Numbers 110863 and 130591

SALARY: None

STAFFING: Ken Little, Commercial Corridor Manager, Kenneth.little@milwaukee.gov, 414-286-5617; Beth Weirick, Downtown Management District, 600 E. Wells St., 220-4705.

LAST UPDATED: January 6, 2021

Name	Title	Start Date	End Date	
Annette Adams	Member	10/19/2022	10/19/2025	*

Appointed By:	Mayor Cavalier Johnson					
Conor Ward	Category 7	1/7/2022	1/7/2025	*		
Appointed By:	Mayor Tom Barrett					
David Knight	Member	1/5/2024	1/5/2027	*		
Appointed By:	Mayor Cavalier Johnson					
George Meyer	Member	1/5/2023	1/5/2026	*		
Appointed By:	Mayor Cavalier Johnson					
Johan Segerdahl	Category 6	5/23/2024	5/23/2028	*		
Appointed By:	Mayor Cavalier Johnson					
John Creighton	Member	5/18/2021	5/18/2024	*		
Appointed By:	Mayor Tom Barrett					
Joseph Ullrich	Member	6/28/2022	6/28/2025	*		
Appointed By:	Mayor Cavalier Johnson					
Kevin Behl	Member	1/8/2024	1/8/2027	*		
Appointed By:	Mayor Cavalier Johnson					
Kevin Kennedy	Category 4 (NML)	4/29/2024	4/19/2028	*		
Appointed By:	Mayor Cavalier Johnson					
Kim Guerrero	Category 1	1/7/2022	1/7/2025	*		
Appointed By:	Mayor Tom Barrett					
Patricia Keating 1	Kahn Member	12/20/2022	12/20/2025	*		
Appointed By:	Mayor Cavalier Johnson					
Phyllis Resop	Member	6/24/2022	6/24/2025	*		
Appointed By:	Mayor Cavalier Johnson					
Scott Welsh	Category 3	1/21/2022	1/21/2025	*		
Appointed By:	Mayor Tom Barrett					
Steven Bartelt	Member	10/4/2023	10/4/2026	*		
Appointed By:	Mayor Cavalier Johnson					
Susan Johnson	Member	1/8/2024	1/8/2027	*		
Appointed By:						
Tammy Babisch	Member	7/29/2021	7/29/2024	*		
Appointed By:	Mayor Tom Barrett					
Thomas Irgens	Member	3/29/2023	3/29/2026	*		
_	Mayor Cavalier Johnson					