

City of Milwaukee

200 E. Wells Street Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202

Department Details

Department name: CITIZEN ANTI-DISPLACEMENT ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Type: Board or Commission

Meeting time:

Meeting location:

Primary contact:

Description:

PURPOSE: The Citizen Anti-Displacement Advisory Committee shall have the following duties: 1. Examine displacement occurring in local neighborhoods, including contributing factors such as rising rents and property taxes. 2. Analyze gentrification and monitor its effects. 3. Review Common Council members' proposals to combat displacement prior to formal consideration by a Common Council standing committee. 4. Develop measures for preventing and limiting displacement. 5. Hold a minimum of 2 community meetings per year to generate public feedback on proposed solutions. 6. Make recommendations to the Common Council regarding potential anti-displacement legislative changes needed to address the problem.

COMPOSITION: The Citizen Anti-Displacement Advisory Committee shall consist of the following 12 members: 1. Three Common Council members representing the 6th, 12th, and 15th aldermanic districts. 2. Nine citizen members, with 3 members each from the 6th, 12th, and 15th aldermanic districts, appointed by their respective local Common Council members. Members of the Citizen Anti-Displacement Advisory Committee shall select the chair of the Citizen Anti-Displacement Advisory Committee. The Citizen Anti-Displacement Advisory Committee shall be staffed by the City Clerk's Office. The Citizen Anti-Displacement Advisory Committee shall submit a report of its findings and recommendations to the Common Council within 6 months of adoption of this resolution.

CREATING AUTHORITY: Common Council File Number 190670

LAST UPDATED: October 9, 2020

Name	Title	Start Date	End Date	
ALD. STAMPER	Member	9/11/2020	4/15/2024	*
Bradley Thurman Appointed By: ALD. STAMPE	Member R	9/11/2020	1/1/2099	*
Chris Piszczek Appointed By: ALD. PEREZ	Member	9/11/2020	1/1/2099	*
Dalvery Blackwell Appointed By: ALD. COGGS	Member	9/11/2020	1/1/2099	*
luscely Flores Villarreal Appointed By: ALD. PEREZ	Co-Chair	9/11/2020	1/1/2099	*

James Green Appointed By: ALD. STAMPE	Member ER	9/11/2020	1/1/2099	*
Shear Winston Appointed By: ALD. COGGS	Member	9/11/2020	1/1/2099	*
Stella Love Appointed By: ALD. COGGS	Member	9/11/2020	1/1/2099	*
Stephanie Mercado Appointed By: ALD. PEREZ	Member	9/11/2020	1/1/2099	*
Steve Adams Appointed By: ALD. STAMPE	Co-Chair ER	9/11/2020	1/1/2099	*

^{*} indicates extended term