

## City of Milwaukee

## **Department Details**

Department name: BLACK MALE ACHIEVEMENT ADVISORY COUNCIL

Type: Board or Commission

Meeting time:

Meeting location:

Primary contact:

Description:

**PURPOSE:** To make recommendations to the Common Council on the issue of African American male achievement. The black male achievement advisory council shall also oversee the City Leadership Grant to Promote Black Male Achievement from the National League of Cities' Institute for Youth, Education and Families and to include making recommendations relating to the My Brother's Keeper presidential initiative.

COMPOSITION: Seventeen members, each of whom serves a three-year term: 1. The mayor shall be honorary co-chair. His or her attendance shall not be required. 2. The common council president shall be co-chair. 3. The city treasurer, or his or her designee 4. The commissioner of health, or his or her designee 5. A Milwaukee police department representative, a Milwaukee fire department or the fire and police commission representative appointed by the common council president 6. The Milwaukee county executive or designee 7. A representative of the Milwaukee board of school directors, appointed by the common council president 8. A representative of a faith-based organization, appointed by the common council president 9. A representative of the business community, appointed by the mayor 10. Two representatives of the philanthropic community, one of whom shall be appointed by the mayor and one shall be appointed by the mayor, and two shall be appointed by the common council president

CREATING AUTHORITY: Common Council File Number 121719, 131642, 141190, and 160182

**SALARY:** None.

**STAFFING:** Ms. Joanna Polanco, 286-2366, jpolan@milwaukee.gov

**LAST UPDATED:** November 11, 2021

Name	Title	Start Date	End Date	
VACANCY Appointed By: ALD. JOHNSO	Member N	4/16/2016	4/20/2020	*
Mayor Cavalier Johnson	Co-Chair	4/16/2024	4/18/2028	
ALD. PEREZ	Co-Chair	4/16/2024	4/18/2028	
Byron Marshall, Jr.	Member	7/29/2021	7/29/2024	*

Appointed By: Mayor Tom Ba	rrett			
Chytania Brown Appointed By: Mayor Tom Ba	Member	2/17/2021	2/17/2024	*
Ellen Gilligan Appointed By: ALD. HAMILTO	Member DN	4/6/2021	4/6/2024	*
James Ferguson, II Appointed By: ALD. HAMILTO	Member DN	5/21/2020	5/21/2023	*
Kalan Haywood, II Appointed By: Mayor Tom Ba	Member rrett	3/3/2021	3/3/2024	*
Larry Miller Appointed By: ALD. HAMILTO	Member DN	8/9/2019	8/9/2022	*
Michael Totoraitis Appointed By: Mayor Cavalie	Member r Johnson	4/16/2024	4/18/2028	
Ramona Sledge Appointed By: ALD. HAMILTO	Member DN	4/4/2019	4/4/2022	*
Rashaad Washington Appointed By: Mayor Tom Ba	Member rrett	3/21/2021	3/21/2024	*
Ricardo Wynn Appointed By: David Crowley	Designee	4/19/2022	4/19/2025	*
Shannon Reed Appointed By: Mayor Tom Ba	Member rrett	8/30/2019	8/30/2022	*
Spencer Coggs Appointed By: Mayor Cavalle	Member r Johnson	4/16/2024	4/18/2028	
Steven Johnson Appointed By: ALD. JOHNSO	Member - Milwaukee Police N	11/23/2021	11/23/2024	
Torre Johnson Appointed By: ALD. HAMILTO	Member DN	1/20/2017	1/20/2020	*

<sup>\*</sup> indicates extended term