

City of Milwaukee

200 E. Wells Street Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202

Department Details

Department name: DOMESTIC VIOLENCE AND SEXUAL ASSAULT, MILWAUKEE COMMISSION ON

Type: Board or Commission

Meeting time:

Meeting location:

Primary contact:

Description:

PURPOSE: To coordinate the community's response to domestic violence and sexual assault by promoting communication and collaboration among members of law enforcement, victims advocates, court staff, school personnel, health care providers, abuser programs, corrections officials, policy-makers, children's service providers, prosecutors, and the community at large.

COMPOSITION: Thirty-three members, subject to confirmation by the Common Council: one appointed by the Mayor; one appointed by the Common Council President; one appointed by the Milwaukee County Executive; two representing the MPD with expertise in the areas of domestic violence and sexual assault (appointed by the Chief of Police); one member appointed by the Milwaukee Public Schools Superintendent; one representative of child welfare agencies (appointed by the director of the Bureau of Milwaukee Child Welfare, Division of Children and Families, Wisconsin Dept. of Health and Family Services); three Assistant District Attorneys to be appointed by the District Attorney (one each from the areas of sexual assault and domestic violence and one working with matters in children's court); one representative of the State Legislature (appointed by the Mayor); one representative of Health Care Service Providers (appointed by the Common Council President); one representative of the Wisconsin Dept. of Corrections-Division of Community Corrections (appointed by the Mayor); one representative of victim advocates (appointed by the Common Council President); four representatives of underserved communities (two appointed by the Mayor and two appointed by the Common Council President, one of each of whom shall represent the African-American, Hispanic, Native American and Southeast Asian communities); six representatives of sexual assault and sexual abuse service providers (three appointed by the Common Council President and three appointed by the Mayor); seven representatives of domestic violence service providers (four appointed by the Common Council President and three appointed by the Mayor); one representative of the LGBT community center (appointed by the Common Council President); and one representative of the Milwaukee judicial sector (appointed by the Common Council President).

These members shall be selected from names recommended by the executive committee of the Commission. The appointing authority may request that additional names be submitted for consideration if the executive committee submits only one name for a vacancy.

Any member may name an alternate by notifying the City Clerk in writing of that alternate. Alternate members shall have full voting rights when the principal members are unable to

attend. Members shall be appointed no later than 60 days after the third Tuesday in April in even numbered years to two-year terms expiring on the third Tuesday of April two years thereafter.

A member who is not an elected official continues to serve after the completion of his or her term until reappointed or until a successor has been appointed.

CREATING AUTHORITY: Section 320-22 of the Milwaukee Code of Ordinances.

SALARY: \$20 per meeting

STAFFING: Karin Tyler, Health Department, 286-2997

WEBSITE:MILWAUKEE COMMISSION ON DOMESTIC VIOLENCE AND SEXUAL ASSAULT

LAST UPDATED: December 11, 2019

Name	Title	Start Date	End Date	
Anne David Appointed By: Mayor Cavalier	DV Service Provider Johnson	11/16/2022	4/16/2024	*
Dana World-Patterson Appointed By: Mayor Tom Bar	SA Service Provider rett	12/1/2021	4/19/2022	*
Dawn Helmrich Appointed By: ALD. HAMILTO	Victim Advocate N	4/20/2016	4/16/2018	*
Dinah LaCaze Appointed By: David Crowley	Member	7/14/2021	4/19/2022	*
Elisabeth Mueller Appointed By: John Chisholm	DA - DV	4/20/2016	4/16/2018	*
Janan Najeeb	SA Service Provider	4/5/2022	4/16/2024	*
Mary Triggiano	Member	3/22/2022	4/16/2024	*
Maryann K. Clesceri Appointed By: ALD. HAMILTO	SA Service Provider N	4/26/2019	4/21/2020	*
Nancy Yarbrough Appointed By: ALD. JOHNSOI	Member N	4/4/2022	4/16/2024	*
Natalie Hayden Appointed By: ALD. PEREZ	DA - DV	4/15/2022	4/16/2024	*
Niel Thoreson Appointed By: Mayor Tom Bar	Dept. of Corr. rett	4/26/2021	4/19/2022	*
Patricia McManus Appointed By: ALD. HAMILTO	HC Service Provider	4/20/2016	4/16/2018	*
Samantha Collier Appointed By: Mayor Cavalier	DV Service Provider Johnson	11/17/2022	4/16/2024	*
Tammie Xiong Appointed By: ALD. HAMILTO	Undrsrvd. SE Asian N	4/20/2016	4/16/2018	*

Timothy Lietzke Member 6/15/2021 4/19/2022

Appointed By: Jeffrey Norman

^{*} indicates extended term