

City of Milwaukee

200 E. Wells Street Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202

Meeting Minutes

MILWAUKEE ARTS BOARD

ALD. MICHAEL J. MURPHY, CHAIR
Ald. Nik Kovac, Vice-Chair
William DeLind, David Flores, Donald Fraker, Marcela Garcia,
Vedale Hill, Tina Klose, Diane Kosarzycki, Emilia Layden,
Sandra McSweeney, Polly Morris, Tim Murphy, and Paula
Phillips

Staff Assistant: Molly Kuether-Steele, 286-2775, Fax: 286-3456, molly.kuether-steele@milwaukee.gov Legislative Liason: Tea Norfolk, 286-8012, tea.norfolk@milwaukee.gov

Staff to Arts Board: Sally Svetic, ssveti@milwaukee.gov

Tuesday, April 13, 2021 4:00 PM Virtual Meeting

The meeting convened at 4:08 PM

Present 12 - Murphy, DeLind, McSweeney, Morris, Flores, Fraker, Kosarzycki, Murphy,

Kovac, Klose, Layden and Garcia

Absent 2 - Hill and Phillips

1. Roll Call

Individuals also present:

Sally Svetic - DCD

Terri Grote - DCD

Vanessa Koster - DCD

Present 11 - Murphy, DeLind, McSweeney, Morris, Flores, Kosarzycki, Murphy, Kovac,

Klose, Layden and Garcia

Absent 2 - Hill and Phillips

Excused 1 - Fraker

2. Review and Approval of Previous Meeting Minutes

Mr. Flores moved approval of the minutes, seconded by Ms. Layden. There were no objections.

3. Public Art Subcommittee Report

Ms. Morris stated no new applications for the New Work Fund or Conservation Fund were received. She added that the TimeSlips Inc. application was discussed again,

Page 1

and the Subcommittee determined that the project did not meet the eligibility guidelines.

4. Grants Update

Sally Svetic stated the applications have been sent to the review panel comprised of Arts Board and community members. Mr. DeLind stated the panel will review applications and make determinations on April 29th.

5. Discussion and Vote on Mildred L. Harpole Artists of the Year

Ms. Morris nominated LaNia Sproles and Klassik. Ms. Klose nominated Anne Kingsbury.

With 7 votes each, Klassik and Anne Kingsbury received the 2021 Mildred L Harpole Artist of the Year Awards. LaNia Sproles received 6 votes.

6. Discussion and Vote on Friends of the Arts

The following were nominated for Friends of the Arts:

Ald. Kovac nominated Howard Leu - Artfluent, Antoine Carter - Imagine MKE, and Linda Wade - Above the Clouds, seconded by Mr. DeLind. There were no objections. Ms. Klose nominated the Near West Side Partners and Downtown BID #21. With 6 votes and 7 votes, the Near West Side Partners and Downtown BID #21 received the 2021 Friends of the Arts Award.

The results were 1 vote for Howard Leu, 2 votes for Antoine Carter, 5 votes for Linda Wade, 6 votes for the Near West side Partners, and 7 votes for Downtown BID #21.

7. New Business

There was no new business.

8. Old Business

There was no old business.

9. Announcements

Ms. Morris congratulated Ms. Garcia on her election to the MPS Board of Directors.

The meeting adjourned at 4:47 PM Molly Kuether-Steele Staff Assistant