

City of Milwaukee

City Hall 200 East Wells Street Milwaukee, WI 53202

Meeting Minutes

STEERING & RULES COMMITTEE

ALD. CAVALIER JOHNSON, CHAIR
Ald. Michael J. Murphy, Vice-Chair
Ald. Ashanti Hamilton, Ald. Robert J. Bauman, Ald. Milele A.
Coggs, Ald. Jose G. Perez, Ald. Khalif J. Rainey, and Ald.
Marina Dimitrijevic

Staff Assistant, Linda Elmer, 286-2231; Fax: 286-3456, lelmer@milwaukee.gov

Monday, October 19, 2020

9:00 AM

Room 301-B, City Hall

This is a virtual meeting. Those wishing to view the proceedings are able to do so via the City Channel - Channel 25 on Spectrum Cable or on the Internet at http://city.milwaukee.gov/citychannel.

PLEASE NOTE the change in meeting time from 1:30 P.M. TO 9 A.M.

Meeting convened: 9:07 A.M.

Present 8 - Johnson, Murphy, Hamilton, Bauman, Coggs, Perez, Rainey, Dimitrijevic

1. <u>200623</u>

Communication from various community groups relating to their demands for legislative and other changes they are seeking in the name of social justice.

Sponsors: Ald. Coggs, Ald. Dodd, Ald. Lewis, Ald. Rainey, Ald. Hamilton, Ald.

Stamper, Ald. Perez, Ald. Dimitrijevic, Ald. Johnson, Ald. Zamarripa

and Ald. Kovac

Individuals speaking:

Black Leaders Organizing Communities (BLOC) - Rick Banks

Bria Smith - Black Youth Commission Against Violence

Community Task Force MKE/Program the Parks MKE - Vaun Mayes

Layton Boulevard West Neighbors - Brianna Sas-Perez

LIT MKE - Leaders Igniting Transformation - Maya Neal and Amanda Avalos

Milwaukee Inner-city Congregations Allied for Hope (MICAH) - Rev. Joe Ellwanger,

Ledora Meadows, Pastor Mary Martha Kanass

Milwaukee LGBT Community Center - Alex Corona

National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) - no rep. present

People's Revolution - Khalil Coleman and Zachary Pick

Planned Parenthood of Wisconsin - Livia Rowell-Ortiz and Molly

Southsdie Organizing Committee - Tammy Rivera

Voces de La Frontera - no rep. present

A motion was made by ALD. COGGS that this Communication be RECOMMENDED FOR PLACING ON FILE. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Aye 8 - Johnson, Murphy, Hamilton, Bauman, Coggs, Perez, Rainey and Dimitrijevic

No 0

Meeting Adjourned: 11:59 A.M.

Linda M. Elmer Staff Assistant

This meeting can be viewed in its entirety through the City's Legislative Research

Center at http://milwaukee.legistar.com/calendar.

City of Milwaukee Page 2