

City of Milwaukee

200 E. Wells Street Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202

Meeting Minutes

DISPARITY STUDY INDEPENDENT REVIEW COMMITTEE

CHAIR: ALD. RUSSELL STAMPER, II Wendy Baumann, Roy Evans, Michael Fabishak, Jeremiah Holiday, Bernadette Karanja, Ossie C. Kendrix, Jr., Nikki Purvis, Nelson Soler, Zongcheng Moua, and Jean Marie Thiel

Staff Assistant: Linda Elmer, 414-286-2231, lelmer@milwaukee.gov

Friday, August 30, 2019 9:00 AM City Hall, Room 303

1. Roll call.

Meeting convened: 9:13 A.M.

7 members present: Wendy Baumann, Roy Evans, Bernadette Karanja, Nikki Purvis,

Nelson Soler, May Yer Thao and Jean Marie Thiel

4 members excused: Ald. Russell Stamper, Michael Fabishak, Brian Mitchell and

Ossie Kendrix

Also present: Kathy Block - City Attorney's Office and Rhonda Kelsey - Purchasing

Director

Due to the absence of the chair, the staff assistant opened the meeting. The first order of business was to elect a chair pro tem. Ms. Thiel moved, seconded by Ms. Purvis, to elect Roy Evans as chair for this meeting. There were no objections.

2. Review and approval of the minutes of the July 26, 2019 meeting.

Ms. Kelsey said that a change in the release date, which was corrected in the minutes. Mr. Soler moved, seconded by Ms. Baumann, for approval of the minutes. There were no objections.

3. Development of negotiation strategies and objectives, and deliberation on a draft of the Request for Proposals for the Disparity Study.

Ms. Thao moved, seconded by Ms. Baumann, to go into closed session. There were no objections.

The body lost its quorum at 10:35 A.M. with the departure of Ms. Thao.

Mr. Soler and Ms. Baumann departed at 11:00 A.M.

190658 Communication relating to the activities of the Disparity Study Independent Review Committee.

Sponsors: THE CHAIR

Meeting adjourned: 11:14 A.M.

Linda M. Elmer Staff Assistant

City of Milwaukee Page 2