

City of Milwaukee

City Hall 200 East Wells Street Milwaukee, WI 53202

Meeting Minutes

COMMUNITY & ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

ALD. RUSSELL W. STAMPER, II, CHAIR
Ald. Jose G. Perez, Vice-Chair Ald. T. Anthony Zielinski, Ald.
Khalif J. Rainey, and Ald. Cavalier Johnson
Staff Assistant, Linda Elmer, 286-2231
Fax: 286-3456, lelmer@milwaukee.gov
Legislative Liaison,Ted Medhin, 286-8681,
tmedhi@milwaukee.gov

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

6:00 PM

Mitchell Street Library 906 Historic Mitchell St.

Special Public Heairing 6:00-8:00 P.M.

Meeting convened: 6:07 P.M.

Ald. Johnson arrived at 7:07 P.M. after Licenses Committee ended.

Tony Frausto, Mitchell Street Branch Manager, welcomed the public and committee members to the library.

Present 5 - Stamper, Perez, Zielinski, Rainey, Johnson

1. 180522

Resolution relative to the establishment of the Year 2019 Funding Allocation Plan.

Sponsors: THE CHAIR

Steve Mahan, Community Block Grants manager, gave a PowerPoint presentation. Speakers from the public:

- 1. PZ (Promise Zones) Youth with the Southside Organizing Committee 1300 S. Layton Blvd Daniel, Christina, Jasmine, Yuri and Jennifer
- 2. Travis Hope 2101 S. 10th St. supports Southside Organizing Committee (SOC)
- 3. Fernando Campos United Community Center
- 4. Elizabeth Coggs 3031 N. 8th St. Westcare Wisconsin
- 5. Jenny Von Helons Salvation Army Homeless Task Force
- 6. Jay Tucker 3732 W. Wisconsin Ave. Wisconsin Community Services and Driver's License Recovery and Employability
- 7. John Kaye Milwaukee Christian Center
- 8. Linda Zinke 2213 S. 18th St. supports SOC and the Community Prosecution Unit
- 9. Amy Rowell 845 N. Van Buren St. Cathedral Center
- 10. Kevin X 2349 N. 44th St. Bare Fruit Premium established in 2015 working with 25 youth currently in the program.
- 11. Norum McGee 2819 W. Richardson Pl. Neighborhood House
- 12. Wendy Weckler 209 W. Orchard St. Executive Director of Hope House
- 13. Eloisa Balderas 1615 S. 2nd St. Housing Resources
- 14. Barbara Moore and Cassandra Flagg 4620 N. 28th St. Northwest Side Community Development Corp.

- 15. Aziz Abdullah on behalf of Ariara Kesete 2417 N. 2nd St. Root Media
- 16. Brianna Sas-Perez -- Layton Blvd. West Neighbors
- 17. Tammy Rivera 1300 S. Layton Blvd. SOC
- 18. Kelly Felder 2247 N. 31st St. lives on North Ave. and supports commercial revitalization and is a BID 28 board member.
- 19. Tyrone McKee -- Social Development Commission has a 16-week construciton program and financial course.
- 20. Joyce Mallory Nonprofit Center of Milwaukee
- 21. Jose Robelo 1311 S. 19th St. SOC client and volunteer

A motion was made by ALD. PEREZ that this Resolution be HELD TO CALL OF THE CHAIR. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Aye 5 - Stamper, Perez, Zielinski, Rainey and Johnson

No 0

Meeting adjourned: 7:30 P.M. Linda M. Elmer Staff Assistant