

# **City of Milwaukee**

## **Meeting Minutes**

## MILWAUKEE ARTS BOARD

ALD. MICHAEL J. MURPHY, CHAIR Ald. Nik Kovac, Vice-Chair Rosemarie Balistreri, Daisy Cubias, William DeLind, David Flores, Donald Fraker, Marcela Garcia, Mildred Harpole, Vedale Hill, Anne Kingsbury, Tina Klose, Diane Kosarzycki, Emilia Layden, Sandra McSweeney, Polly Morris, and Tim Murphy

Staff Assistant, Molly Kuether-Steele, 286-2775 Fax: 286-3456, molly.kuether-steele@milwaukee.gov Legislative Liaison: Tea Norfolk, 286-8012, Tea.Norfolk@milwaukee.gov Staff to Arts Board, Sally Witte, 286-5794, Sally.Witte@milwaukee.gov

Tuesday, April 10, 2018

4:00 PM

Room 303, City Hall

## 1. Roll Call

The meeting convened at 4:06 PM Individual also present: Sally Witte, DCD		
Present	13 -	Murphy, DeLind, Kingsbury, McSweeney, Morris, Flores, Fraker, Kosarzycki, Murphy, Klose, Layden, Hill and Garcia
Absent	1 -	Cubias
Excused	3 -	Kovac, Harpole and Balistreri

## 2. Review and Approval of Previous Meeting Minutes

Mr. Flores moved approval, seconded by Ms. Kingsbury. There were no objections.

#### 3. Public Art Subcommittee Report

Ms. Morris stated the subcommittee recommends \$5,000 for Peacemaking at Tiefenthaler Park. She added Black Cat Alley will attend the next meeting and further information is needed from Designing Equity: Lexicon. Ms. Morris moved to fund the Peacemaking at Tiefenthaler Park at \$5,000, seconded by Ms. McSweeney. There were no objections. Ms. Morris added that there was discussion about the mosaic murals in the state office building and attemping to gain historic preservation designation. Ald. Murphy stated this item will be added to the next meeting agenda.

## 4. **Project Grants Update**

Sally Witte stated of 46 applications only 1 was ineligible because of the timing of the project. She added that the grants panel training will be conducted next Thursday and

the review is Thursday, May 3rd.

## 5. Vote on Artists of the Year and Friends of the Arts

Mr. Flores nominated Scott Stewart from the Florentine Opera for Artist of the Year.
Ms. Layden nominated Katie Heil for Friends of the Arts.
Ms. Morris moved to approve Scott Stewart for Artist of the Year, seconded by Ms.
Kingsbury. There were no objections.
Ms. Morris nominated Diane Buck for Friends of the Arts.
Ald. Murphy moved to approve Katie Heil and Diane Buck for Friends of the Arts.
There were no objections.

#### 6. New Business

There was no new business.

#### 7. Old Business

Ms. Witte stated she has been in contact with Sandy Rusch-Walton regarding the streetcar rollout in October. Ms. Kosarzycki stated Congresswoman Moore's office is still accepting art of the annual art competition.

#### 8. Announcements

There were no announcements.

The meeting adjourned at 4:36 PM. Molly Kuether-Steele Staff Assistant