

City of Milwaukee

City Hall 200 East Wells Street Milwaukee, WI 53202

Meeting Minutes

COMMUNITY & ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

ALD. RUSSELL W. STAMPER, II, CHAIR Ald. Jose G. Perez, Vice-Chair Ald. T. Anthony Zielinski, Ald. Khalif J. Rainey, and Ald. Cavalier Johnson Staff Assistant, Linda Elmer, 286-2231 Fax: 286-3456, lelmer@milwaukee.gov Legislative Liaison,Ted Medhin, 286-8681, tmedhi@milwaukee.gov

Wednesday, December 5, 2018	1:30 PM	Committee Room, Room 301-B, City Hall
Amended 12/3/18 Item #10 (File 181256) may be referred to the Finance and Personnel Committee.		
	Committee.	

Meeting convened:	1:32 P.M.
-------------------	-----------

- Present 3 Stamper, Perez, Johnson
- Excused 2 Zielinski, Rainey

1.180938Reappointment of Sam Denny to the Business Improvement District #8
by the Mayor. (6th Aldermanic District)

Sponsors: THE CHAIR

Ald. Rainey asked to be noted as voting in the affirmative on this matter. There were no objections.

A motion was made by ALD. PEREZ that this Appointment be HELD TO CALL OF THE CHAIR. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Aye 4 - Stamper, Perez, Rainey and Johnson

No 0

Excused 1 - Zielinski

2. <u>180944</u> Reappointment of Anne Kingsbury to the Milwaukee Arts Board by the Mayor. (3rd Aldermanic District)

<u>Sponsors:</u> THE CHAIR

Ald. Rainey asked to be noted as voting in the affirmative on this item. There were no objections.

A motion was made by ALD. PEREZ that this Appointment be RECOMMENDED FOR CONFIRMATION. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Aye 4 - Stamper, Perez, Rainey and Johnson

No 0

Excused 1 - Zielinski

3. <u>180842</u> Reappointment of Vedale Hill to the Milwaukee Arts Board by the Mayor. (6th Aldermanic District)

<u>Sponsors:</u> THE CHAIR

Ald. Rainey asked to be noted as voting in the affirmative on this matter. There were no objections.

A motion was made by ALD. JOHNSON that this Appointment be HELD TO CALL OF THE CHAIR. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Aye 4 - Stamper, Perez, Rainey and Johnson

No 0

- Excused 1 Zielinski
- **4.** <u>180936</u> Reappointment of Michael Coakley to the Business Improvement District #8 by the Mayor. (6th Aldermanic District)

<u>Sponsors:</u> THE CHAIR

A motion was made by ALD. RAINEY that this Appointment be RECOMMENDED FOR CONFIRMATION. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Aye 4 - Stamper, Perez, Rainey and Johnson

No 0

Excused 1 - Zielinski

Roll call taken at 1:40 P.M.

Present 4 - Stamper, Perez, Rainey, Johnson

Excused 1 - Zielinski

5. <u>181162</u> Appointment of Michael Phillips to the Vel R. Phillips Trailblazer Service Award Selection Committee by the Common Council President.

Sponsors: THE CHAIR

Ald. Rainey asked to noted as voting in the affirmative on this matter. There were no objections.

A motion was made by ALD. JOHNSON that this Appointment be RECOMMENDED FOR CONFIRMATION. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Aye 4 - Stamper, Perez, Rainey and Johnson

No 0

Excused 1 - Zielinski

6. <u>181236</u> Appointment of Joaquin Altoro to the Black Male Achievement Advisory Council by the Mayor. (10th Aldermanic District)

Sponsors: THE CHAIR

A motion was made by ALD. PEREZ that this Appointment be RECOMMENDED FOR CONFIRMATION. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Aye 4 - Stamper, Perez, Rainey and Johnson

No 0

- Excused 1 Zielinski
- 7.181232Reappointment of Michael DeMichele to the Business Improvement
District #2 by the Mayor. (3rd Aldermanic District)

<u>Sponsors:</u> THE CHAIR

A motion was made by ALD. RAINEY that this Appointment be RECOMMENDED FOR CONFIRMATION. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Aye 4 - Stamper, Perez, Rainey and Johnson

No 0

Excused 1 - Zielinski

8. <u>181305</u> Appointments of Jada Young, Erica Lofton, Emoni Gambrell-Toliver, Adea Dunn, Cheyenne Jordan, Bria Smith, Alannah Jones, Genaviv Alcantara, Ken'Triana McDade, Gabriela Castro, Jesilyna Gonzales, Joya Headley, Marvell Reed and Greta Garcia-Jalil Melendez to the 2018-2019 Youth Council.

Sponsors: THE CHAIR

Jim Owczarski - City Clerk

A motion was made by ALD. PEREZ that this Appointment be RECOMMENDED FOR CONFIRMATION. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Aye 4 - Stamper, Perez, Rainey and Johnson

No 0

Excused 1 - Zielinski

- 9.181233Reappointment of Joan Bartels Farrell to the Business Improvement
District #5 by the Mayor. (4th Aldermanic District)
 - <u>Sponsors:</u> THE CHAIR

		A motion was made by ALD. RAINEY that this Appointment be RECOMMENDED FOR CONFIRMATION. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:
		Aye 4 - Stamper, Perez, Rainey and Johnson
		No 0
		Excused 1 - Zielinski
10.	<u>181256</u>	Resolution relating to renewal of the contract between Yolobe, Inc., and the City of Milwaukee for creation and implementation of DirectConnectMKE.
		Sponsors: Ald. Coggs and Ald. Stamper
		Individuals present: Bernadette Karanja David Douglas - Co-founder and CEO of Yolobe Ald. Coggs Add Ald. Rainey, Perez, Johnson and Stamper as co-sponsors.
		A motion was made by ALD. PEREZ that this Resolution be RECOMMENDED FOR ADOPTION AND ASSIGNED to the FINANCE & PERSONNEL COMMITTEE . This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:
		Aye 4 - Stamper, Perez, Rainey and Johnson
		No 0
		Excused 1 - Zielinski
11.	<u>181279</u>	An ordinance relating to the composition of the Vel. R. Phillips trailblazer award selection committee.
		<u>Sponsors:</u> Ald. Coggs
		A motion was made by ALD. RAINEY that this Ordinance be RECOMMENDED FOR PASSAGE. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:
		Aye 4 - Stamper, Perez, Rainey and Johnson
		No 0
		Excused 1 - Zielinski
12.	<u>181275</u>	Resolution approving the Year 2019 Operating Plan for Business Improvement District No. 28, located in the 15th Aldermanic District.
		<u>Sponsors:</u> Ald. Stamper
		Kelly Felder - board member of BID #28 Terrence Acquah - Dept. of City Development
		A motion was made by ALD. JOHNSON that this Resolution be RECOMMENDED FOR ADOPTION. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:
		Aye 4 - Stamper, Perez, Rainey and Johnson

No 0

Excused 1 - Zielinski

13. <u>181282</u> Resolution authorizing the Department of Administration - Environmental Collaboration Office to accept and fund an Energy Innovation Grant from Public Service Commission of Wisconsin's Office of Energy Innovation to develop a comprehensive energy plan for municipal buildings and vehicle fleet.

Sponsors: Ald. Johnson, Ald. Rainey, Ald. Perez and Ald. Stamper

Elizabeth Hittman - Office of Environmental Collaboration Bob Harventochi- Edison Energy Ald Rainey, Perez and Stamper added as co-sponsors.

A motion was made by ALD. JOHNSON that this Resolution be RECOMMENDED FOR ADOPTION. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Aye 4 - Stamper, Perez, Rainey and Johnson

No 0

Excused 1 - Zielinski

14. <u>181175</u> Communication regarding the Wisconsin Policy Forum's report on eviction prevention.

Sponsors: Ald. Johnson, Ald. Rainey, Ald. Stamper and Ald. Perez

Irma Yepez-Klassan - Mayor's Office Joe Peterangelo - Wisconsin Public Policy Forum Andi Elliott -Community Advocates Kristi Luzar - Urban Economic Development Association Rafael Ramos- Legal Action (Eviction Defense Project) Colleen Foley - Legal Aid Joanne Lipo Zovic - Mediate Milwaukee Mario Higgins - Community Block Grants Administration Emily McKeown & Pepita Johnson - Dept. of Neighborhood Services

Ald. Rainey asked to be added as a co-sponsor and Ald. Stamper asked that all committee members be added.

A motion was made by ALD. PEREZ that this Communication be RECOMMENDED FOR PLACING ON FILE. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Aye 4 - Stamper, Perez, Rainey and Johnson

No 0

Excused 1 - Zielinski

Meeting adjourned: 3:27 P.M. Linda M. Elmer Staff Assistant This meeting can be viewed in its entirety through the City's Legislative Research Center at http://milwaukee.legistar.com/calendar.