

City of Milwaukee

City Hall 200 East Wells Street Milwaukee, WI 53202

Meeting Minutes

COMMUNITY & ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

		ALD. RUSSELL W. STAMPER, II, CHAIR Ald. Jose G. Perez, Vice-Chair Ald. T. Anthony Zielinski, Ald. Khalif J. Rainey, and Ald. Cavalier Johnson Staff Assistant, Linda Elmer, 286-2231 Fax: 286-3456, lelmer@milwaukee.gov Legislative Liaison,Ted Medhin, 286-8681, tmedhi@milwaukee.gov			
Thur	rsday, November	15, 2018 1:30 PM Committee Room, Room 301-B, City Hall			
		Amended 11/14/18 - Item #12, file 181156, was added.			
		Masting approach 1:25 D.M.			
		Meeting convened: 1:35 P.M. Present 4 - Stamper, Perez, Zielinski, Johnson			
		Excused 1 - Rainey			
1.	<u>180938</u>	Reappointment of Sam Denny to the Business Improvement District #8 by the Mayor. (6th Aldermanic District)			
		<u>Sponsors:</u> THE CHAIR			
		A motion was made by ALD. PEREZ that this Appointment be HELD TO CALL OF THE CHAIR. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:			
		Aye 4 - Stamper, Perez, Zielinski and Johnson			
		No 0			
		Excused 1 - Rainey			
2.	<u>180366</u>	Reappointment of Rana Altenburg to the Business Improvement District #10 by the Mayor. (4th Aldermanic District)			
		<u>Sponsors:</u> THE CHAIR			
		A motion was made by ALD. PEREZ that this Appointment be RECOMMENDED FOR CONFIRMATION. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:			
		Aye 4 - Stamper, Perez, Zielinski and Johnson			
		No 0			
		Excused 1 - Rainey			
3.	<u>180989</u>	Reappointment of Lisa (Braun) Kurszewski to the Business Improvement			

		District #5 by the Mayor. (4th Aldermanic District)
		<u>Sponsors:</u> THE CHAIR
		A motion was made by ALD. ZIELINSKI that this Appointment be RECOMMENDED FOR CONFIRMATION. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:
		Aye 4 - Stamper, Perez, Zielinski and Johnson
		No 0
		Excused 1 - Rainey
4.	<u>180936</u>	Reappointment of Michael Coakley to the Business Improvement District #8 by the Mayor. (6th Aldermanic District)
		Sponsors: THE CHAIR
		A motion was made by ALD. RAINEY that this Appointment be HELD TO CALL OF THE CHAIR. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:
		Aye 4 - Stamper, Perez, Zielinski and Johnson
		No 0
		Excused 1 - Rainey
5.	<u>180944</u>	Reappointment of Anne Kingsbury to the Milwaukee Arts Board by the Mayor. (3rd Aldermanic District)
		Sponsors: THE CHAIR
		A motion was made by ALD. JOHNSON that this Appointment be HELD TO CALL OF THE CHAIR. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:
		Aye 4 - Stamper, Perez, Zielinski and Johnson
		No 0
		Excused 1 - Rainey
6.	<u>180839</u>	Reappointment of Donald Fraker to the Milwaukee Arts Board by the Mayor. (3rd Aldermanic District)
		Sponsors: THE CHAIR
		A motion was made by ALD. RAINEY that this Appointment be RECOMMENDED FOR CONFIRMATION. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:
		Aye 5 - Stamper, Perez, Zielinski, Rainey and Johnson
		Aye 5 - Stamper, Perez, Zielinski, Rainey and Johnson
		No 0
		No 0

COMMUNITY & ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE		Meeting Minutes	November 15, 2018
7.	<u>181055</u>	Reappointment of Phyllis Resop to the Business Improvement #21 by the Mayor. (4th Aldermanic District)	t District
		Sponsors: THE CHAIR	
		A motion was made by ALD. JOHNSON that this Appointment be RECOMMENDED FOR CONFIRMATION. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:	he
		Aye 5 - Stamper, Perez, Zielinski, Rainey and Johnson	
		No 0	
8.	<u>181035</u>	Reappointment of Paul Rubitsky to the Business Improvemen #27 by the Mayor. (10th Aldermanic District)	t District
		<u>Sponsors:</u> THE CHAIR	
		A motion was made by ALD. RAINEY that this Appointment be RECOM FOR CONFIRMATION. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:	
		Aye 5 - Stamper, Perez, Zielinski, Rainey and Johnson	
		No 0	
9.	<u>180762</u>	Reappointment of Mike Sweeney to the Business Improvement #40 by the Mayor. (13th Aldermanic District)	nt District
		<u>Sponsors:</u> THE CHAIR	
		A motion was made by ALD. ZIELINSKI that this Appointment be RECOMMENDED FOR CONFIRMATION. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:	he
		Aye 5 - Stamper, Perez, Zielinski, Rainey and Johnson	
		No 0	
10.	<u>181056</u>	Reappointment of Joseph Ullrich to the Business Improvemen #21 by the Mayor. (4th Aldermanic District)	t District
		<u>Sponsors:</u> THE CHAIR	
		A motion was made by ALD. RAINEY that this Appointment be RECOM FOR CONFIRMATION. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:	
		Aye 5 - Stamper, Perez, Zielinski, Rainey and Johnson	
		No 0	
11.	<u>181163</u>	Appointment of Jasmine Johnson to the Vel R. Phillips Trailbla Service Award Selection Committee by the Common Council	
		<u>Sponsors:</u> THE CHAIR	
		Ald. Coggs also present.	

A motion was made by ALD. RAINEY that this Appointment be RECOMMENDED FOR CONFIRMATION. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Aye 5 - Stamper, Perez, Zielinski, Rainey and Johnson

No 0

12.181156Appointment of Peggy Rozga to the Vel R. Phillips Trailblazer Service
Award Selection Committee by the Common Council President.

Sponsors: THE CHAIR

Ald. Coggs present at the table.

A motion was made by ALD. PEREZ that this Appointment be RECOMMENDED FOR CONFIRMATION. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Aye 5 - Stamper, Perez, Zielinski, Rainey and Johnson

No 0

Ald. Perez excused from the rest of the meeting at 2:35 P.M.

Present 4 - Stamper, Zielinski, Rainey, Johnson

Excused 1 - Perez

13. <u>180995</u>

Substitute resolution authorizing the submittal, acceptance and funding of the City of Milwaukee's 2019 consolidated community development entitlement funding for Community Development Block Grant, HOME Investment Partnership and Emergency Solutions Grant Program from the U. S. Department of Housing and Urban Development through the Community Development Grants Administration (CDGA).

Sponsors: THE CHAIR

Mr. Steve Mahan, Community Block Grants Administration Stephanie Harling - Havenwoods Economic Development Corp. Howard Snyder - Northwest Side Community Development Corporation Danielle Green - Lincoln Park neighborhood Cassandra Flagg - Northwest Side CDC Willie Smith - Northwest Side CDC William Coleman - Safe and Sound Jodv - New Life Lucas Hutchins - Boys and Girls Club George Hinton - Social Development Commission Travis Sanders - Westcare Wisconsin Lena Huckley - Westcare Wisconsin, Community Organizer Shawn Muhammed - Asha Services Cindy Kranenbuhl - Guest House Tom Borden - Mediate Milwaukee Board member Kristi Luzar - Wisconsin Economic Development Corp. (WEDC)

Raphael Garcia - Community First Patrick Strang - Milwaukee Christian Center Paul Smith - Milwaukee Christian Center Paul Mozina - question from the public Tim Bach - Pathfinders

A motion was made by ALD. RAINEY that this Resolution be RECOMMENDED FOR ADOPTION. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Aye 4 - Stamper, Zielinski, Rainey and Johnson

No 0

Excused 1 - Perez

14. <u>180996</u> Substitute resolution authorizing the acceptance and funding of the City of Milwaukee's 2019 consolidated community development entitlement funding for Housing Opportunities For Persons With AIDS (HOPWA) from the U. S. Department of Housing and Urban Development through the Community Development Grants Administration (CDGA).

<u>Sponsors:</u> THE CHAIR

A motion was made by ALD. JOHNSON that this Resolution be RECOMMENDED FOR ADOPTION. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Aye 4 - Stamper, Zielinski, Rainey and Johnson

No 0

Excused 1 - Perez

Meeting adjourned: 3:15 P.M. Linda M. Elmer Staff Assistant