

City of Milwaukee

City Hall 200 East Wells Street Milwaukee, WI 53202

Meeting Minutes

COMMUNITY & ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

ALD. RUSSELL W. STAMPER, II, CHAIR
Ald. Jose G. Perez, Vice-Chair Ald. T. Anthony Zielinski, Ald.
Khalif J. Rainey, and Ald. Ashanti Hamilton
Staff Assistant, Linda Elmer, 286-2231
Fax: 286-3456, lelmer@milwaukee.gov
Legislative Liaison,Ted Medhin, 286-8681,
tmedhi@milwaukee.gov

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

1:30 PM

Room 301-B, City Hall

Amended 5/15/18 -- Item #7 and the closed-session text were added. Former item #7 was moved to be item #10.

Meeting convened: 1:36 P.M.

Present 3 - Stamper, Zielinski, Rainey

Excused 2 - Perez, Hamilton

1. <u>180052</u>

Appointment of Pat McQuillan to the Business Improvement District #10 by the Mayor. (4th Aldermanic District)

Sponsors: THE CHAIR

A motion was made by ALD. ZIELINSKI that this Appointment be RECOMMENDED FOR CONFIRMATION. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Aye 3 - Stamper, Zielinski and Rainey

No 0

Excused 2 - Perez and Hamilton

Present 5 - Stamper, Perez, Zielinski, Rainey, Hamilton

2. <u>180078</u>

Appointment of Jeff Hanewall to the Business Improvement District #19 by the Mayor. (1st Aldermanic District)

Sponsors: THE CHAIR

A motion was made by ALD. HAMILTON that this Appointment be RECOMMENDED FOR CONFIRMATION. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

		Aye 5 - Stamper, Perez, Zielinski, Rainey and Hamilton
		No 0
3.	<u>171836</u>	Appointment of Pastor James Carrington to the Business Improvement District #28 by the Mayor. (15th Aldermanic District)
		<u>Sponsors:</u> THE CHAIR
		A motion was made by ALD. RAINEY that this Appointment be RECOMMENDED FOR CONFIRMATION. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:
		Aye 5 - Stamper, Perez, Zielinski, Rainey and Hamilton
		No 0
4.	<u>180177</u>	Appointment of Mike O'Connor to the Business Improvement District #11 by the Mayor. (3rd Aldermanic District)
		<u>Sponsors:</u> THE CHAIR
		A motion was made by ALD. PEREZ that this Appointment be HELD TO CALL OF THE CHAIR. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:
		Aye 5 - Stamper, Perez, Zielinski, Rainey and Hamilton
		No 0
5.	<u>180180</u>	Reappointment of Mike O'Connor to the Business Improvement District #41 by the Mayor. (3rd Aldermanic District)
		<u>Sponsors:</u> THE CHAIR
		A motion was made by ALD. PEREZ that this Appointment be HELD TO CALL OF THE CHAIR. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:
		Aye 5 - Stamper, Perez, Zielinski, Rainey and Hamilton
		No 0
6.	<u>180179</u>	Reappointment of Mike DeMichele to the Business Improvement District #41 by the Mayor. (3rd Aldermanic District)
		<u>Sponsors:</u> THE CHAIR
		A motion was made by ALD. ZIELINSKI that this Appointment be RECOMMENDED FOR CONFIRMATION. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:
		Aye 5 - Stamper, Perez, Zielinski, Rainey and Hamilton
		No 0
7.	<u>171768</u>	Substitute resolution terminating Neighborhood Improvement District No. 8 (Walker's Point), in the 12th Aldermanic District.

Sponsors:

Ald. Perez

Natanael Martinez - Dept. of City Development

A motion was made by ALD. PEREZ that this Resolution be RECOMMENDED FOR ADOPTION. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Ave 5 - Stamper, Perez, Zielinski, Rainey and Hamilton

No 0

8. <u>171915</u> Substitute resolution relating to the creation of a 2018 Disparity Study Independent Review Committee.

Sponsors: Ald. Hamilton and Ald. Stamper

Held at the request of Ald. Hamilton to work through some more details.

A motion was made by ALD. HAMILTON that this Resolution be HELD TO CALL OF THE CHAIR. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Aye 5 - Stamper, Perez, Zielinski, Rainey and Hamilton

No 0

 171777 Communication from all agencies receiving Community Development Block Grant Funds for public safety purposes.

Sponsors: Ald. Stamper and Ald. Perez

Individuals present:

Mario Higgins - Community Block Grants Administration

Captain Alex Ramirez - District 2, Milwaukee Police Dept.

Ms. Howard - Director of Police Planning and Policy

Cassandra Flagg - Northwest Side Community Development Agency/NSP 1 (which includes Parklawn)

Danielle Green - NSCDA/NSP 3

Barbara Moore - NSCDA/NSP 4

Willie Smith - Director of Lending, Northwest Side CDC

Shaquilla Scott - Boys and Girls Club

Joe Stolzman - Boys and Girls Club

Lucas

Devon Davis - Westcare

Ken Brown - community organizer at Westcare

Elizabeth Coggs - Westcare

Karen Thomas - Youthcare Coordinator, Westcare

Ariana Stewart - Community Engagement Specialist, Westcare

Jeff Altenburg - Deputy District Attorney

Katie Sanders - Executive Director, Safe and Sound

Casey Ursual - Community Prosecutor for the near west side

Ann Lopez - Community Prosecutor for the near south side

Jeremy Arm - Community Prosecutor for district 5 (4th and Locust)

Derrick Shultz - Youth Organizer, Safe and Sound

WIlliam Coleman - Program Director, Safe and Sound

Elizabeth Banks - Community Organizer, NSP 12

Maritsa Gartey - Safety Coordinator for Safe and Sound for MPD district 2

Claudia Pisano - Safety Coordinator for Safe and Sounds for MPD district 5

Sherry Tussler - Merrill Park Neighborhood Association

Octavia Parker - NSP 9 organizer with the Dominican Center

Donta Holmes - Running Rebels

Diascie Cesar - Community Organizer for Running Rebels

Camille Mays - Peace Garden Project MKE and organizer for Sherman Park

Community Organization

Tammy Rivera - Southside Organizing Committee

Clarissa Morales - Southside Organizing Center and NSP 17 coordinator

Delvin Crawford - NSP 18 (historic Granville area)

Po Vang - United Methodist Children's Services

Ald. Zielinski excused from the rest of the meeting at 5:00 P.M.

Rovera Buzel - Sllver Spring Neighborhood Coordinator and NSP 19

Lywanda Glover - Riverworks Development Corporation

A motion was made by ALD. RAINEY that this Communication be HELD TO CALL OF THE CHAIR. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Aye 5 - Stamper, Perez, Zielinski, Rainey and Hamilton

No 0

4:00 P.M.

10. 180211

Substitute resolution approving a non-disclosure agreement between the City of Milwaukee and the WEC Energy Group relating to the development of utility-scale solar facilities for City use.

Sponsors: Ald. Bohl and Ald. Johnson

Held at the request of Ald. Bohl, the primary sponsor.

A motion was made by ALD. RAINEY that this Resolution be HELD TO CALL OF THE CHAIR. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Aye 4 - Stamper, Perez, Rainey and Hamilton

No 0

Excused 1 - Zielinski

Meeting adjourned: 5:30 P.M.

Linda M. Elmer Staff Assistant

This meeting can be viewed in its entirety through the City's Legislative Research

Center at http://milwaukee.legistar.com/calendar.