

City of Milwaukee

200 E. Wells Street Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202

Meeting Minutes

FRANK P. ZEIDLER PUBLIC SERVICE AWARD SELECTION COMMITTEE

Ald. Robert Bauman, Chair
Art Heitzer, Vice Chair
Shelley Bruehling, John Gurda, Arthur Harrington, Jack
Murtaugh, and June Perry-Stevens

Staff Assistant: Joanna Polanco 286-2366, Fax: 286-3456, jpolan@milwaukee.gov Legislative Liaison: Tea Norfolk, 286-8012, tea.norfolk@milwaukee.gov

Wednesday, August 23, 2017

10:00 AM

Room 301-B, City Hall

- 1. Call to Order at 10:09 AM
- 2. Roll Call

Present 6 - Gurda, Bauman, Bruehling, Heitzer, Harrington and Perry-Stevens

3. Approval of prior meeting minutes

Mr. Murtaugh, seconded by Ald. Bauman moved to approve the July 29, 2016 minutes. There were no objections.

4. Discussion related to nominations received for 2017

Nominee to be considered for this year's award were:

Jesus Salas, nominated by Ken Germanson and Steven Cupery from the Wisconsin Labor History Society also supported by Mr. Sergio Gonzalez, Luis (Tony) Perez, Phil Neuenfeldt, and David Newby

Michael D. Rosen, nominated by Veronica Neumann – AFT Local 212/Voces de la Frontera

Steven Savic, nominated by John Amberg –Jackson Park Safety Patrol Venice Williams, nominated by Marjorie Rucker –The Business Council, Inc Reggie Jackson, nominated by Dr. Frank Kaplan – America's Black Holocaust Museum

Rev. Willie Brisco, nominated by MICAH

After nominations were discussed, members came to a consensus that two nominations should be selected.

Motion by Mr. Heitzer, seconded by Ald. Bauman, to present the 2017 Frank P. Zeidler Public Service Award to Mr. Jesus Salas and Mr.Reggie Jackson. There were no objections.

Award will be presented on September 26th prior to the Common Council meeting.

It was agreed that remainder nominations be considered for next year's award.

5. Meeting adjourned at 10:30 AM Joanna Polanco Staff Assistant

In the event that Common Council members who are not members of this committee attend this meeting, this meeting may also simultaneously constitute a meeting of the Common Council or any of the following committees: Community and Economic Development, Finance and Personnel, Judiciary and Legislation, Licenses, Public Safety, Public Works, Zoning, Neighborhoods & Development, and/or Steering and Rules. Whether a simultaneous meeting is occurring depends on whether the presence of one or more of the Common Council member results in a quorum of the Common Council or any of the above committees, and, if there is a quorum of another committee, whether any agenda items listed above involve matters within that committee's realm of authority. In the event that a simultaneous meeting is occurring, no action other than information gathering will be taken at the simultaneous meeting.

Upon reasonable notice, efforts will be made to accommodate the needs of persons with disabilities through sign language interpreters or auxiliary aids. For additional information or to request this service, contact the City Clerk's Office ADA Coordinator at 286-2998, (FAX)286-3456, (TDD)286-2025 or by writing to the Coordinator at Room 205, City Hall, 200 E. Wells Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202.

Limited parking for persons attending meetings in City Hall is available at reduced rates (5 hour limit) at the Milwaukee Center on the southwest corner of East Kilbourn and North Water Street. Parking tickets must be validated in the first floor Information Booth in City Hall.

Persons engaged in lobbying as defined in s. 305-43-4 of the Milwaukee Code of Ordinances are required to register with the City Clerk's Office License Division. Registered lobbyists appearing before a Common Council committee are required to identify themselves as such. More information is available at http://city.milwaukee.gov/Lobbying.