



Meeting Minutes

FRANK P. ZEIDLER PUBLIC SERVICE AWARD SELECTION COMMITTEE

Ald. Robert Bauman, Chair Art Heitzer, Vice Chair Shelley Bruehling, John Gurda, Arthur Harrington, Jack Murtaugh, and June Martin Perry

Staff Assistant: Joanna Polanco 286-2366, Fax: 286-3456, jpolan@milwaukee.gov Legislative Liaison: Amy Hefter, 286-2290, ahefte@milwaukee.gov

Friday, July 29, 2016

10:30 AM

Room 301-A, City Hall

Meeting convened at 10:36 AM

Present 5 - Bauman, Heitzer, Murtaugh, Harrington and Martin Perry

1. Approval of the minutes from the previous meeting.

Mr. Heitzer, seconded by *Mr.* Murtaugh moved to approve the August 5, 2015 minutes. There were no objections.

2. Discussion related to nominations received for 2016.

Nominee to be considered for this year's award were: Viola (Vi) Hawkins, nominated by Mary Beth Malm from the Community volunteer/Non-Profit Management Consultant Dr. Calyle Chan & Dr. Christopher Chan, nominated by Dr. Patricia Meyer Chan Rose Daitsman, nominated by Mary Laan from the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom - Milwaukee Chapter Also remaining nominations from 2015, were also considered: Mary Celeste Laan Clayborn Benson Cheri McGrath William H. Lynch McCannon Brown and Andre Lee Ellis

Motion by Mr. Heitzer, seconded by Mr. Murtaugh to award the 2016 Frank P. Zeidler Public Service Award to Rose Daitsman and Andre Lee Ellis

Mr. Harrington asked and suggested to have a story on the local newspaper on the two individuals receiving the 2016 award. Ald. Bauman agreed and directed the Public Information Division to coordinate with the media for these stories to be published and for a press release to announce this year's winners.



The award will be presented at the September 20th Common Council meeting and based on the recipients availability.

Meeting adjourned at 10:53 AM

Members of the Common Council and its standing committees who are not members of this committee may attend this meeting to participate or to gather information. Notice is given that this meeting may constitute a meeting of the Common Council or any of its standing committees, although they will not take any formal action at this meeting.

Upon reasonable notice, efforts will be made to accommodate the needs of persons with disabilities through sign language interpreters or auxiliary aids. For additional information or to request this service, contact the City Clerk's Office ADA Coordinator at 286-2998, (FAX)286-3456, (TDD)286-2025 or by writing to the Coordinator at Room 205, City Hall, 200 E. Wells Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202.

Limited parking for persons attending meetings in City Hall is available at reduced rates (5 hour limit) at the Milwaukee Center on the southwest corner of East Kilbourn and North Water Street. Parking tickets must be validated in the first floor Information Booth in City Hall.

Persons engaged in lobbying as defined in s. 305-43-4 of the Milwaukee Code of Ordinances are required to register with the City Clerk's Office License Division. Registered lobbyists appearing before a Common Council committee are required to identify themselves as such. More information is available at http://city.milwaukee.gov/Lobbying.