

## City of Milwaukee

City Hall 200 East Wells Street Milwaukee, WI 53202

## **Meeting Minutes**

## **COMMON COUNCIL**

Tuesday, April 16, 2024 9:00 AM Common Council Chamber

## Charter Meeting, 2024-2028 Session

- 1. Call to Order at 9:21 AM
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance and Moment of Silent Meditation
- 3. Election of the Common Council President

Ald. Pratt nominated Ald. coggs.

Ald. Zamarripa nominated Ald. Perez.

Ald. Perez was elected Common Council president for the 2024-2028 term. vote 10-5

4. Election of the City Clerk

Mr. Jim Owczarski was nominated to be the 2024-2028 City Clerk for this new term. The nomination was approved unanimously.

Ms. Zelazny gave the Oath of Office to Mr. Owczarski.

- 5. Recess at 9:35 AM
- 6. Return to Order at 11:06 AM
- 7. Roll Call

Present:

Pratt

Chambers, Jr.

Brostoff

Bauman

Westmoreland

Coggs

Jackson

Zamarripa

Taylor

Moore

Burgelis Spiker Dimitrijevic Stamper, II Perez

15 members present

- 8. Singing of the National Anthem by Ms. Jasmine Inostrosa
- 9. Singing of "Lift Every Voice" by Ms. Adekola Adedapo
- 10. Invocation by Rev. Christopher R. Boston
- 11. Administration of the Oath of Office to Common Council Members
- 12. Introduction of Council Members
- 13. Remarks by the President, Jose G. Pérez
- 14. Administration of the Oath of Office to the City Attorney, Evan Goyke and Remarks
- 15. Administration of the Oath of Office to the City Comptroller, Bill Christianson and Remarks
- 16. Administration of the Oath of Office to the City Treasurer, Spencer Coggs and Remarks
- 17. Benediction by Rabbi Mendel Shmitkin
- 18. Presentation of ordinances, resolutions, motions and communications
- 19. Adjournment of this meeting at 12:43
  Joanna Polanco
  Staff Assistant