

City of Milwaukee

City Hall 200 East Wells Street Milwaukee. WI 53202

Meeting Minutes COMMUNITY & ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

ALD. JOE DAVIS, SR., CHAIR
Ald. T. Anthony Zielinski, Vice-Chair
Ald. James Witkowiak, Ald. Willie Wade, Ald. Terry Witkowski
Staff Assistant, Joanna Polanco, 286-2366
Fax: 286-3456, jpolan@milwaukee.gov
Legislative Liaison, Amy Hefter, 286-2290,
ahefte@milwaukee.gov

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

6:00 PM

Kosciusko Community Center 2201 S. 7th Street

Special Public Hearing 6:00 - 8:00 P.M.

Meeting commenced at 6:15 p.m.

Present 4 - Davis, Zielinski, Witkowiak, Witkowski

Excused 1 - Wade

1. 100317 Resolution relative to the establishment of the Year 2011 Funding Allocation Plan.

Sponsors: THE CHAIR

Ald. Zielinski opened the meeting with a few words and introductions, then passed the microphone to Steve Mahan, Director of the Community Block Grants Administration. Mr. Mahan provided an overview of the proposed 2010 funding.

Ald. Davis arrived the hearing shortly after Ald. Zelinski had opened the meeting and also gave an introduction.

Individuals speaking:

Sylvia Ortiz

Barbara Notestein - Safe and Sound Inc.

Jaime Alvarado - Nonprofit Center of Milwaukee

Steve Adams - Nonprofit Center of Milwaukee

Linda Zinke

Chris Orr - Bright Future Initiative

Steve Fendt - Southside Organizing Committee

Tim Schermetzier - Safe and Sound Inc.

Jose Meraz - Safe and Sound Inc. (Mrs. Meraz addressed the panel, Jaime Alvarado interpretred)

Gary Tuma - Walker's Point Center for the Arts

Jim Connolly - Metropolitan Milwaukee Fair Housing Council

Jim Gambon & Tom Frank - Social Development Commission

Clarence Johnson - Wisconsin Community Services

Mary Frances Willcoxson - Daysta, Inc

Charlotte John-Gomez - Layton Boulevard West Neighbors, Inc.

Also present: Georgia Pabst - Milwaukee Journal Sentinel Ald. Davis gave an opportunity to Ms. Lee Kundee to offered a few words.

A motion was made by ALD. WITKOWIAK that this Resolution be HELD TO CALL OF THE CHAIR. This motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Aye 4 - Davis, Zielinski, Witkowiak and Witkowski

No 0

Excused 1 - Wade

Meeting adjourned at 7:15 p.m. Staff Assistant Joanna Polanco

City of Milwaukee Page 2