BY ALDS. BAUMAN, JOHNSON, HAMILTON, ZAMARRIPA, COGGS, LEWIS, SPIKER, BORKOWSKI, PEREZ, RAINEY, DODD, STAMPER

Resolution recognizing Repairers of the Breach on its 30th anniversary for serving Milwaukee's homeless population.

WHEREAS,

REPAIRERS OF THE BREACH

celebrated its 30th anniversary of fulfilling its mission of offering services to people experiencing homelessness in the City of Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Repairers of the Breach is Greater Milwaukee's only daytime refuge and resource center for homeless adults open six days per week, and has operated from the belief that offering life-saving, life-sustaining, and life-restoring programs is key to self-reliability; and

WHEREAS, Repairers of the Breach was established in 1991 with a focus on communications projects advocating with and for people experiencing homelessness, and changed its primary focus in 1994 when it began offering Milwaukee's first daytime homeless resource center; and

WHEREAS, Repairers of the Breach envisions an inclusive society whose members all have adequate food, housing, health care, a support system, literacy, and an empowered voice, and where homeless experience and achieve hope and transformation; and

WHEREAS, Repairers of the Breach's daytime sanctuary is an empowering place where homeless and at-risk men and women can get the resources they need to get back on track; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Repairers of the Breach on its 30th anniversary of serving Milwaukee's homeless population, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community and wishes for its continued success; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of the resolution be presented to Repairers of the Breach.

Introduced by Common Council members Robert J. Bauman, Cavalier Johnson, Ashanti Hamilton, JoCasta Zamarripa, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Scott Spiker, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on November 2, 2021.