BY ALDS. JOHNSON, HAMILTON, COGGS, SPIKER, STAMPER, PEREZ, BORKOWSKI, LEWIS, RAINEY, DODD

Resolution congratulating Northside Church of God on its 70th anniversary.

WHEREAS,

NORTHSIDE CHURCH OF GOD

saluted 70 years of faith, history, and service during a special celebration at 4858 N. 19th St. on October 17, 2021; and

WHEREAS, Founded in 1950 by its first leaders Roxie Kern and Pauline Nash, Northside Church of God has been a staple in Milwaukee's parish community for seven decades, and has had several leaders since being incorporated in October 1959; and

WHEREAS, In June 1965 Rev. Dr. Sandy Johnson became the leader of the ministry, as the church continued its membership growth and became a small congregation of praise and worship, and in August 1968 the church would move to 4858 N. 19th St.; and

WHEREAS, In 1990, plans came forth to build a new building for the growing church, and in December 1990 the church doors were opened to a new edifice (at 4858 N. 19th St.), and the building is where Northside Church of God members continue to worship and serve the community; and

WHEREAS, Rev. Dr. Johnson retired in 2013 after serving for 48 years, and the departure led to the tenure of Rev. Lamont R Sherrill at Northside Church of God, and he continues to serve as the residing pastor; and

WHEREAS, Under Rev. Sherrill the mission of Northside is "Making Disciples who make Disciples," and the church mortgage has successfully been paid in full; and

WHEREAS, Northside Church of God serves the community through outreach, which includes a food pantry, clothing pantry, prison ministry, and vaccinations for COVID-19; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Northside Church of God on its 70th anniversary, and recognize its historical and positive impact on the community and offers its sincere wishes for continued success; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Northside Church of God.

Introduced by Common Council members Cavalier Johnson, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Scott Spiker, Russell W. Stamper, II, José G. Pérez, Mark A. Borkowski, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on November 2, 2021.