BY ALDS. MURPHY, RAINEY, COGGS, JOHNSON, SPIKER, DODD, BORKOWSKI, HAMILTON, STAMPER II, PEREZ, LEWIS

Resolution expressing condolences to the family and friends of Michael D. Neville who passed from this life on September 13, 2021.

WHEREAS,

MICHAEL D. NEVILLE

passed from this life on September 13, 2021 and services were held on September 22, 2021 at Church of the Gesu, 1145 W. Wisconsin Ave.; and

- WHEREAS, Michael D. Neville, a Milwaukee native and loving brother to John, Robert, David (Kari), uncle to nieces Meghan and Katie, and to nephews Bobby and Jesus, and friend and cousin to many; and
- WHEREAS, Michael Neville graduated from Francis Jordan High School, and then from Marquette University in Milwaukee and then later pursued a degree from Long Island University; and
- **WHEREAS**, Michael Neville would continue to pursue his passion and education as an actor and writer for 15 years in New York City, and returned home in 1985 to love and care for his parents; and
- WHEREAS, Michael Neville would become the Artistic and Producing Director of Playwrights Studio Theater in Milwaukee (and wrote "Lamps for My Family") and also worked as a voice artist and performed more than 20 voices on the radio show "Hotel Milwaukee"; and
- **WHEREAS**, Michael Neville would also become a recipient of a National Endowment for the Arts grant, a New York State Creative Artists Fellowship in playwriting, and a Shubert Fellowship in playwriting; and
- **WHEREAS**, Michael is remembered by his family and friends as a passionate, artistic, and talented writer and actor for the City of Milwaukee and will be cherished in honor of his many artistic accomplishments; now, therefore, be it
- **RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith offers its sincere condolences to the family of Michael D. Neville, and mourns the passing of this passionate and talented artist; and, be it
- **FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the family of Michael D. Neville.

Introduced by Common Council members Michael J. Murphy, Khalif J. Rainey, Milele A. Coggs, Cavalier Johnson, Scott Spiker, Nikiya Dodd, Mark A. Borkowski, Ashanti Hamilton, Russell W. Stamper, II, José G. Pérez and Chantia Lewis and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on October 12, 2021.