BY ALDS. PEREZ, ZAMARRIPA, STAMPER, COGGS, HAMILTON, JOHNSON, DODD, RAINEY, BORKOWSKI, SPIKER, LEWIS

Resolution recognizing the June 2021 March on Madison for Immigrants' Rights.

WHEREAS,

MARCH ON MADISON FOR IMMIGRANTS' RIGHTS

took place over nine days starting on June 25, 2021, taking participants from Milwaukee to Madison demanding pathways to citizenship; and

WHEREAS, Organized by Voces de la Frontera, the march featured hundreds of participants who walked for nine days from Milwaukee to Madison to call on lawmakers to grant citizenship for the nearly 11 million undocumented immigrants in the United States; and

WHEREAS, Once in Dane County on June 28th, March leaders and demonstrators marched to the State Capitol Building in Madison and were joined by lawmakers and other leaders to demand change and an end to the fear that immigrants – a large portion of whom work on the frontlines in many businesses and industries (often in dangerous and vulnerable work during a pandemic) – face every day; and

WHEREAS, Without documents, without Social Security, and without driver's licenses, undocumented immigrant families continue to provide essential work every day in America, helping the economy function and paying taxes – yet all without citizenship and without a safety net; and

WHEREAS, Thanks to Voces de la Frontera and the dedicated marchers and demonstrators, the March on Madison for Immigrants' Rights helped get the attention of state and national lawmakers to help further the call for pathways to citizenship and citizenship for all; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes the dedicated marchers and activists who walked 90 miles to Madison for immigrants' rights in June 2021, and thanks them for their selfless concern for vulnerable immigrant citizens in the City of Milwaukee and across the U.S.; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Voces de la Frontera.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, JoCasta Zamarripa, Russell W. Stamper, II, Milele A. Coggs, Ashanti Hamilton, Cavalier Johnson, Scott Spiker, Nikiya Dodd, Mark A. Borkowski, Chantia Lewis and Khalif J. Rainey and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 21, 2021.