BY ALDS. PEREZ, HAMILTON, JOHNSON, DODD, RAINEY, BORKOWSKI, COGGS, SPIKER, STAMPER, LEWIS

Resolution expressing support and recognition for an accomplished woman, Stephanie Mercado.

WHEREAS,

## STEPHANIE MERCADO

dedicated a substantial portion of her life to involving the people of the south side in environmental health practices and lifestyles for the Kinnickinnic River area; and

- WHEREAS, Stephanie Mercado was the healthy communities project manager and community revitalization coordinator for four years where she leveraged investments along the Kinnickinnic River and flood plain areas to help strengthen the Kinnickinnic River; and
- WHEREAS, Stephanie Mercado has improved and built a link to the natural environment through the installation of community driven art projects, community gardens, developing safer and friendlier streetscapes, and programming for neighborhood green spaces that welcomed all; and
- WHEREAS, Stephanie Mercado has designed and implemented leadership development opportunities for neighbors and local businesses and other stakeholders in the Kinnickinnic River projects she has worked on; and
- **WHEREAS**, Stephanie Mercado has served on many boards involving health and environmental issues in Milwaukee's near south side neighborhoods; and
- WHEREAS, Stephanie is the definition of a community advocate and has been a pillar of the empowerment of the Kinnickinnic River Neighbors in actions, and as a strong voice in the revitalization efforts of the Kinnickinnic River; now, therefore, be it
- **RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes Stephanie Mercado for her dedicated community involvement, and expresses its sincere thanks for her valuable contributions to her neighborhood and to the City of Milwaukee; and, be it
- **FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Stephanie Mercado.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, Ashanti Hamilton, Cavalier Johnson, Milele A. Coggs, Scott Spiker, Nikiya Dodd, Mark A. Borkowski, Russell W. Stamper, II, Chantia Lewis and Khalif J. Rainey and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on July 27, 2021.