## BY THE COMMON COUNCIL

Resolution congratulating the Milwaukee Bucks on winning the 2021 NBA Eastern Conference Final.

WHEREAS,

## **MILWAUKEE BUCKS**

won their third Eastern Conference championship title in franchise history sending the team to the NBA Finals for the first time since 1974; and

**WHEREAS,** The Bucks swept the Miami Heat in Round 1 and came back from a 2-0 deficit to defeat the Brooklyn Nets in Round 2; and

WHEREAS, In the Eastern Conference Finals the Bucks played an outstanding series against the Atlanta Hawks despite two time MVP Giannis Antetokounmpo being sidelined after hyperextending his left knee in Game 4, as the Bucks prevailed in Game 6 with Khris Middleton scoring 23 of his game-high 32 points in the third quarter to lead the Bucks to a 118-107 victory, clinching the franchise's first NBA Finals appearance since 1974; and

**WHEREAS**, The Bucks intensified their defense and their energy on the offensive end, as outside shooting played an integral role in helping the Bucks close out the Hawks, thanks to contributions from Jeff Teague, Pat Connaughton and Bryn Forbes, who combined to sink seven three-pointers in Game 6, while Jrue Holiday added 27 points, nine rebounds and nine assists; and

**WHEREAS,** Bucks fans once again showed why they are the best in basketball as fans packed Fiserv Forum and Deer District to support the Bucks at each and every game (at home and away), cheering joyously and displaying good sportsmanship throughout; and

**WHEREAS,** The Milwaukee Bucks 2021 Eastern Conference Championship win was made possible by a team – led by GM Jon Horst and head coach Mike Budenholzer– which excelled in all phases of the game, and which fought hard, played together and kept focus to continue winning; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates the Milwaukee Bucks on clinching a spot in the 2021 NBA Finals by winning the 2021 Eastern Conference Championship title, and extends its appreciation on behalf of the community for giving the City of Milwaukee excitement and something to be truly proud of, and wishes the very best to the entire team and organization in the future; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the 2021 Eastern Conference Final Champion Milwaukee Bucks.

Introduced and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on July 27, 2021: Robert J. Bauman, Ashanti Hamilton, Cavalier Johnson, Nik Kovac, Nikiya Dodd, Milele A. Coggs, Khalif J. Rainey, JoCasta Zamarripa, Chantia Lewis, Michael J. Murphy, Mark A. Borkowski, José G. Pérez, Scott Spiker, Marina Dimitrijevic and Russell W. Stamper, II.