BY ALDS. SPIKER, RAINEY, COGGS, JOHNSON, DODD, BORKOWSKI, HAMILTON, STAMPER, PEREZ, LEWIS

Resolution congratulating Fernando Garza on his career with the Department of Public Works.

WHEREAS,

FERNANDO GARZA

retired with pride and satisfaction as a Cement Finisher with the Department of Public Works on April 29, 2021 after nearly 20 years of dedicated service to the City of Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Fernando Garza began his career with the City of Milwaukee on May 29, 2001 as a Seasonal City Laborer for the Department of Public Works; and

WHEREAS, Fernando Garza excelled during his career with the City of Milwaukee Department of Public Works, working as an Electrical Services Laborer, Labor Crew Leader I, Sewer Laborer I and II, Sewer Repair Crew Leader, Operations Driver/Worker and Cement Finisher Helper; and

WHEREAS, Fernando Garza was then promoted to Cement Finisher in the Street Maintenance Unit of the Department of Public Works; and

WHEREAS, Fernando Garza gained and displayed expertise through his work and performed with confidence and skill during his employment, completely meeting the challenges of his responsibilities as a Cement Finisher and serving as a fine example of a dedicated employee; and

WHEREAS, Fernando Garza richly and justly earned the enduring praise, respect and gratitude of his coworkers, friends, family and the community at large for his dedication and service to the Department of Public Works and to the City of Milwaukee; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Fernando Garza on his retirement from the Department of Public Works, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community, and wishes for him a happy and healthy retirement; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Fernando Garza, an outstanding employee.

Introduced by Common Council members Scott Spiker, Khalif J. Rainey, Milele A. Coggs, Cavalier Johnson, Nikiya Dodd, Mark A. Borkowski, Ashanti Hamilton, Russell W. Stamper, II, José G. Pérez and Chantia Lewis and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on July 7, 2021.