BY ALDS. COGGS, JOHNSON, SPIKER, DODD, BORKOWSKI, HAMILTON, STAMPER, PEREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY

Resolution congratulating the Maures Development Group on celebrating its 15<sup>th</sup> anniversary.

WHEREAS,

## THE MAURES DEVELOPMENT GROUP

celebrated its 15th anniversary; and

**WHEREAS** The Maures Development Group was established in 2006 and is a leader in urban real estate development, working to restore ownership, wealth, health, safety and pride to urban neighborhoods through holistic development; and

**WHEREAS** The Maures Development Group is committed to Milwaukee. and focused on improving Milwaukee's communities, concentrating specifically on areas that have survived despite, sluggish economies and, ongoing changes; and

**WHEREAS** The Maures Development Group was founded by Melissa Goins in 2006 and is a woman and minority-owned and operated business; and

WHEREAS, The Maures Development Group has earned a reputation for identifying innovative urban development opportunities that incorporate industry advances, while emphasizing community, and successfully integrating these characteristics has proven to be beneficial in enhancing Milwaukee's economic, environmental and community sustainability; and

WHEREAS, The Maures Development Group strives to better the community, develop and support women leaders, and since 2006 has developed affordable housing projects in Milwaukee that used tax credits awarded by WHEDA with President Goins serving as a strong advocate for development in Milwaukee's minority neighborhoods; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates The Maures Development Group on its 15th anniversary, and wishes for it continued growth and prosperity; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to The Maures Development Group.

Introduced by Common Council members Miele A. Coggs, Cavalier Johnson, Scott Spiker, Nikiya Dodd, Mark A. Borkowski, Ashanti Hamilton, Russell W. Stamper, II, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on July 7, 2021.