BY ALDS. DIMITRIJEVIC, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, JOHNSON, SPIKER, DODD, HAMILTON, COGGS, PEREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY

Resolution honoring the hard work and dedication of nurses during National Nurses Week from May 6-12, 2021.

WHEREAS,

NATIONAL NURSES WEEK

Occurs annually from May 6-12 and sets out to honor nurses for their continued hard work, dedication and service to bettering our community; and

WHEREAS, Nurses and other frontline healthcare workers serve as the backbone of the entire healthcare system as they shape the patient experience by proving excellent service, compassion, and expertise to all who step foot in hospitals, clinics, emergency rooms and other healthcare venues; and

WHEREAS, The continued COVID-19 pandemic has shined a light on the importance of nurses as they have been tasked with working long hours while given limited resources and often putting their own health and wellness at risk in the name of making sure our shared community is healthy and thriving; and

WHEREAS, Despite their hard work and unwavering commitment, nurses still face challenges toward receiving adequate pay and proper support in the workplace while often feeling exploited of their goodwill, kind nature and professionalism; and

WHEREAS, The City of Milwaukee stands with nurses in our city, county and across the state and will support them as they continue to fight for better pay, protection and respect while serving our community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates and recognizes nurses throughout Wisconsin on the occasion of National Nurses Week, and on behalf of its citizens commends them for their vital work in supporting our residents before, during and well after the COVID-19 pandemic; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the Wisconsin Federation of Nurses and Health Professionals.

Introduced by Common Council members Marina Dimitrijevic, Chantia Lewis, Cavalier Johnson, Scott Spiker, Ashanti Hamilton, Mark A. Borkowski, Milele A. Coggs, José G. Pérez, Khalif J. Rainey, Nikiya Dodd and Russell W. Stamper, II and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on May 25, 2021.