BY ALDS. LEWIS, JOHNSON, SPIKER, DODD, BORKOWSKI, HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, PEREZ, RAINEY

Resolution congratulating George Hinton on receiving an honorary doctorate from the Medical College of Wisconsin.

WHEREAS,

GEORGE HINTON

received an honorary doctorate degree from the Medical College of Wisconsin on May 21, 2021, recognizing his decades of leadership and service that has positively impacted the City of Milwaukee and the metro area; and

WHEREAS, George Hinton, the CEO of the Social Development Commission, holds an MS in Healthcare Administration and a BBA in finance; and

WHEREAS, During his tenure as president for Aurora Healthcare, George Hinton had a direct and substantive impact on issues of community health and healthcare reform, and in that leadership post he managed a team of more than 700 physicians, 1,300 caregivers, and an annual agency budget of more than \$230 million; and

WHEREAS, George Hinton is a strategic executive with extensive experience leading staff, building teams, improving program outcomes and providing consulting services, and his experience includes improving organizational performance while establishing a strong culture of engagement and partnerships, which he sees as being especially vital in urban environments; and

WHEREAS, George Hinton is currently leading the Social Development Commission in establishing a new, innovative direction and strategic approach to reducing poverty in Milwaukee County; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes and congratulates George Hinton on receiving an honorary doctorate from the Medical College of Wisconsin, and further extends its gratitude to him for the vital services he performs and for his extraordinary dedication to the City of Milwaukee and its citizens; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to George Hinton, an outstanding leader.

Introduced by Common Council members Chantia Lewis, Cavalier Johnson, Scott Spiker, Nikiya Dodd, Mark A. Borkowski, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, José G. Pérez and Khalif J. Rainey and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on May 25, 2021.