BY ALDS. JOHNSON, SPIKER, DODD, BORKOWSKI, HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, PEREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, ZAMARRIPA, DIMITRIJEVIC

Resolution congratulating the Women's fund of Greater Milwaukee in celebrating its 35th *anniversary.*

WHEREAS,

THE WOMEN'S FUND OF GREATER MILWAUKEE

celebrated its 35th anniversary on April 28, 2021; and

WHEREAS The Women's Fund of Greater Milwaukee was established in 1986 and is a leader in activating philanthropy to advance equity for women, working to ensure Greater Milwaukee as an inclusive world-class community where women and girls realize their full potential; and

WHEREAS The Women's Fund of Greater Milwaukee is committed to social change, focused on shifting attitudes, behavior, and culture, and assembles the community around important issues and topics that impact women.

WHEREAS The Women's Fund of Greater Milwaukee provides HER Scholarships to women who are non-traditional students pursuing their first bachelor's degrees and makes grants to area non-profits addressing systemic issues that affect women; and

WHEREAS, The Women's Fund of Greater Milwaukee believes that women and girls must have economic equality, feel safe in their homes and places of work, hold positions of power and authority and most importantly be able to control their own destiny; and

WHEREAS, The Women's Fund of Greater Milwaukee strives to empower women, develop and support women leaders, and maintain a responsible business structure that protects their assets and maximizes the use of funds, and is the only foundation in Milwaukee that works to grow its endowment in order to ensure there are always resources available to strategically support initiatives to advance equity for women and girls; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates the Women's Fund of Greater Milwaukee on its 35th anniversary, and wishes for it continued growth and prosperity; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the Women's Fund of Greater Milwaukee.

Introduced by Common Council members Cavalier Johnson, Scott Spiker, Nikiya Dodd, Mark A. Borkowski, Ashanti Hamilton, Miele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, JoCasta Zamarripa and Marina Dimitrijevic and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on April 13, 2021.