BY ALDS. MURPHY, BORKOWSKI, JOHNSON, SPIKER, DODD, HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, PEREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY

Resolution congratulating Ned Goede on his retirement from Wisconsin Lutheran High School.

WHEREAS,

NED GOEDE

retired with pride and satisfaction as an educator after more than 45 years of dedicated service to Wisconsin Lutheran High School and the City of Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Ned Goede richly and justly earned the enduring praise, and respect of his coworkers and the community at large for his efforts in making Wisconsin Lutheran High School a leader in secondary education by fostering graduates with strong Christian principles and rigorous academic accomplishments, and during his 31 years of service to Wisconsin Lutheran High School, he created one of the City of Milwaukee's most diverse schools, with students of color making up more than 40 percent of its enrollment; and

WHEREAS, Ned Goede spearheaded the development of the College Readiness Curriculum, which has helped young people throughout the City of Milwaukee develop the skills and values needed to complete coursework at Wisconsin Lutheran High School, where nearly 5,000 young people graduated from during his time as principal, with most continuing their postsecondary studies in college; and

WHEREAS, In addition to his administrative leadership, Ned Goede led the acclaimed swing choir "Wisco Kids" and the award-winning Acapella Choir, to which he dedicated 25 years of service; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Ned Goede for his distinguished career as principal of Wisconsin Lutheran High School and expresses its deep gratitude for his many contributions as an outstanding educational leader; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Ned Goede.

Introduced by Common Council members Michael J. Murphy, Mark A. Borkowski, Cavalier Johnson, Scott Spiker, Nikiya Dodd, Ashanti Hamilton, Miele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis and Khalif J. Rainey and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on April 13, 2021.