BY ALDS. COGGS, JOHNSON, SPIKER, DODD, BORKOWSKI, HAMILTON, STAMPER, PEREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY

Resolution expressing condolences to the family and friends of Pastor Nellie Mae Gilliam, who passed from this life on February 21, 2021.

WHEREAS,

PASTOR NELLIE MAE GILLIAM

passed from this life on February 21, 2021 at the age of 81, and services were held on March 6, 2021 at Wisconsin Memorial Park in Brookfield; and

WHEREAS, Nellie Mae Gilliam was born on October 25, 1939 in Glendora, Mississippi to parents James Walter Hilson and Hattie Hilson-Thomas; and

WHEREAS, Nellie Mae Gilliam and Andrew Gilliam married in 1959, and moved their family to Milwaukee where Nellie Mae worked at Briggs and Stratton for more than 30 years as one of the first Black floor supervisors in the company's history; and

WHEREAS, Nellie Mae Gilliam was the first president of her family-owned insurance company, GBG Inc., and led them to many prosperous years of business; and

WHEREAS Nellie Mae Gilliam became a pastor in 1990 and opened Family Fellowship Ministries, Inc., to host religious services, and she also opened a men's drug and alcohol rehab group home to help men recover from drug and alcohol addiction, and later founded Priscilla's Child Care Development Center, Inc.; and

WHEREAS Pastor Nellie Mae Gilliam leaves to cherish her memory daughter Nurmal Jean (Chet), sons Charles, Jonathan, Dale and David, three grandchildren she helped raise -- Marquis, Jamila and Justin -- William Fojtik who she raised as her own, and a host of grandchildren, great grandchildren, nieces, nephews, cousins and other loving friends and family members; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith offers its sincere condolences to the family of Pastor Nellie Mae Gilliam, and mourns the passing of this fine, upstanding woman; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the family of Pastor Nellie Mae Gilliam.

Introduced by Common Council members Milele A. Coggs, Cavalier Johnson, Scott Spiker, Nikiya Dodd, Mark A. Borkowski, Ashanti Hamilton, Russell W. Stamper, II, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis and Khalif J. Rainey and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on March 23, 2021.