TEARMAN SPENCER

City Attorney

KIMBERLY R. WALKER Special Deputy City Attorney

ODALO J. OHIKU SCOTT F. BROWN ROBIN A. PEDERSON Deputy City Attorneys



Milwaukee City Hall Suite 800 200 East Wells Street Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202-3551 Telephone: 414.286.2601 TDD: 414.286.2025 Fax: 414.286.8550

February 26, 2021

Honorable Judiciary and Legislation Committee City Hall, Room 205

Re: Resolution authorizing settlement of claims in the lawsuit entitled

Lincoln Warehouse Realty, LLC v. City of Milwaukee

File No.:

Honorable Committee:

The above-referenced lawsuit was commenced by the owner of warehouse facility located at 2018 South 1st Street within the City. The Plaintiff claimed that the City excessively assessed the property for tax year 2019. The Plaintiff sought a refund of property taxes previously paid in the amount of \$51,227.41 plus costs and interest. The Plaintiff and the City Assessor have agreed to a reduced assessment amount for the property, which results in a partial refund of taxes previously paid to the Plaintiff in the amount of \$14,363.36. Although the City would initially have to pay this amount, after the Wisconsin Department of Revenue charges back the reduction in assessments to the other taxation districts, the City's portion of the \$14,363.36 will be approximately one-third or \$4,787.79.

In consultation with the City Assessor, the City Attorney now recommends settlement of this matter for the proposed refund, inclusive of all interests and costs. In exchange for this settlement and payment, the Plaintiff will stipulate to dismiss the case and release all existing claims against the City arising out of this matter, and will not file a claim for either the 2020 or 2021 tax years.

Very truly yours,

WILLIAM G. DAVIDSON Assistant City Attorney

MILWAUKEE

SUSAN E. LAPPEN
PATRICIA A. FRICKER

IAV A LINORA

HEIDI WICK SPOERL

KATHRYN Z. BLOCK KEVIN P. SULLIVAN

THOMAS D. MILLER

ANDREA J. FOWLER

JULIE P. WILSON GREGORY P. KRUSE KIMBERLY A. PRESCOTT

SHEILA THOBANI NICOLE F. LARSEN

JAMES M. CARROLL WILLIAM G. DAVIDSON MEIGHAN M. ANGER ALEXANDER R. CARSON

Assistant City Attorneys

PATRICK J. MCCLAIN NAOMI E. GEHLING BENJAMIN J. ROOVERS ELLENY B. CHRISTOPOULOS TYRONE M. ST. JUNIOR HANNAH R. JAHN

PETER 1. BLOCK

JENNY YUAN ALLISON N. FLANAGAN HEATHER H. HOUGH

JEREMY R. MCKENZIE