## **TEARMAN SPENCER**

City Attorney

KIMBERLY R. WALKER Special Deputy City Attorney

MARY L. SCHANNING ODALO J. OHIKU SCOTT F. BROWN ROBIN A. PEDERSON Deputy City Attorneys



Milwaukee City Hall Suite 800 • 200 East Wells Street • Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202-3551 Telephone: 414.286.2601 • TDD: 414.286.2025 • Fax: 414.286.8550

January 29, 2021

Judiciary & Legislation Committee of the Honorable Common Council Attn: Ms. Joanna Polanco, Staff Assistant Room 205, City Hall City of Milwaukee

Re: File #200764

Applicant: Deitrei Henly Prior owner: Deitrei Henly

Property address: 3330 S. 20<sup>th</sup> St.

Dear Ms. Polanco:

This is the fourth time this file has been heard by the Judiciary and Legislation Committee.

This office has had the opportunity to review the above-referenced application, including whether the applicant or prior owners have any outstanding debts with the Milwaukee Municipal Court. I am pleased to report that we did not locate any such outstanding debts.

The applicant did apparently, however, lease the property to a tenant after the City obtained ownership and it appears that he is managing this property for the applicant. The agent, Russell Henly, entered into a lease agreement with a tenant for this property on Sept. 1, 2020. Russell Henly does have an outstanding municipal forfeiture judgment (18060665; retail theft) in the amount of \$373.00. Russell also has a warrant out for his arrest for failing to appear in that action. Further, Russell has ownership interests in two companies that own properties with delinquent property taxes:

- 4165 N. 22<sup>nd</sup> St., owned by C.C. Electric and General Contracting, Inc., which has delinquent 2019 taxes, and
- 1853 N. 12<sup>th</sup> St., owned by HHH&H Electric. Inc., delinquent in 2017, 2018, and 2019 taxes.

**SUSAN E. LAPPEN PATRICIA A. FRICKER** HEIDI WICK SPOERL **GREGG C. HAGOPIAN** ΙΔΥ Δ ΙΙΝΟΡΑ KATHRYN Z. BLOCK **KEVIN P. SULLIVAN** THOMAS D. MILLER JEREMY R. MCKENZIE PETER J. BLOCK JENNY YUAN **ALLISON N. FLANAGAN HEATHER H. HOUGH** ANDREA J. FOWLER PATRICK J. MCCLAIN **NAOMI E. GEHLING BENJAMIN J. ROOVERS ELLENY B. CHRISTOPOULOS TYRONE M. ST. JUNIOR** HANNAH R. JAHN JULIE P. WILSON GREGORY P. KRUSE KIMBERLY A. PRESCOTT SHEILA THOBANI KATRYNA C. RHODES **NICOLE F. LARSEN** JAMES M. CARROLL **WILLIAM G. DAVIDSON** MEIGHAN M. ANGER **ALEXANDER R. CARSON** Assistant City Attorneys

Judiciary & Legislation Committee Attn: Ms. Joanna Polanco January 29, 2021 Page 2

If there are any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

s/ Nicole F. Larsen

NICOLE F. LARSEN Assistant City Attorney 1155-2019-249:273092