BY ALDS. KOVAC, HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, PEREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON, SPIKER

Resolution congratulating Laura Daniels on her retirement from the Department of Public Works.

WHEREAS,

LAURA DANIELS

retired with pride and satisfaction as Operations Division Director with the Department of Public Works on after 36 years of dedicated service to the City of Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Laura Daniels worked for the Milwaukee Water Works for 32 years starting in 1984 as a Safety Coordinator and was promoted in 1985 to Safety Coordinator Sr., Distribution Staff Assistant in 1986, Water Distribution Assistant Manager in 1987, Water Distribution Manager in 1990, and Administration Projects Manager in 2005; and

WHEREAS, Laura Daniels earned a Bachelor of Science Degree from the University of Platteville, a certificate of Labor Relations from Marquette Law School, and a Certificate of Public Administration from University of Wisconsin; and

WHEREAS, Laura Daniels has been a member of the American Public Works Association (APWA) and American Water Works Association (AWWA) for 35 years and has chaired several committees and ad-hoc committees, she also served two terms as a board member (2013-2017) and was a Leon A. Smith Awardee; and

WHEREAS, Laura Daniels was appointed Operations Division Director with the Department of Public Works in 2016 and was responsible for implementing snow and ice removal programs which ultimately awarded the City of Milwaukee recognition in Excellence in Snow and Ice Control from the American Public Works Association in 2018; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Laura Daniels on her retirement from the Department of Public Works, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community, and wishes for her a happy and healthy retirement; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Laura Daniels, an outstanding employee.

Introduced by Common Council members Nik Kovac, Cavalier Johnson, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Scott Spiker and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on December 15, 2020.