BY ALDS. JOHNSON, KOVAC, PÉREZ, BAUMAN, MURPHY, DODD, SPIKER, BORKOWSKI, COGGS, HAMILTON, STAMPER, RAINEY, LEWIS,

*Resolution recognizing Historic Milwaukee, Inc. on the occasion of celebrating the 10<sup>th</sup> anniversary of the Doors Open Milwaukee event.* 

## WHEREAS,

## **DOORS OPEN MILWAUKEE**

celebrated its 10<sup>th</sup> Anniversary in which the doors of buildings in Milwaukee are open for public viewing, learning and exploration, and a special bell ringing ceremony was held to mark the occasion at City Hall on September 26, 2020; and

**WHEREAS,** Doors Open Milwaukee is one of Historic Milwaukee, Inc.'s most ambitious projects dedicated to increasing awareness and commitment to Milwaukee's history, architecture and the preservation of our built environment; and

**WHEREAS,** Historic Milwaukee, Inc. is a non-profit whose primary goal is to educate the public about the architecture, maintenance of historic buildings, and finally the history of the buildings; and

WHEREAS, Doors Open Milwaukee is a known event in other major cities and Milwaukee was the first in the Midwest to participate in this opportunity to let history, business and architecture educate the community, and the first showing 10 years ago drew more than 10,000 visitors to 80 buildings with the help of public librarian George Wagner; and

WHEREAS, Doors Open Milwaukee has substantially grown as it now consistently attracts more than 30,000 visitors annually to close to 170 Milwaukee buildings, however, in 2020 the event will be conducted online to more than 50 buildings via virtual tours; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes Historic Milwaukee, Inc. on its 10<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of Doors Open Milwaukee and extends its wishes for continued success; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Historic Milwaukee, Inc. in honor of its 10<sup>th</sup> Doors Open Milwaukee event.

Introduced by Common Council members Cavalier Johnson, Nik Kovac, José G. Pérez, Michael J. Murphy, Robert J. Bauman, Nikiya Dodd, Scott Spiker, Mark A. Borkowski, Milele A. Coggs, Ashanti Hamilton, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, and Russell W. Stamper, II and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on October 13, 2020.