BY ALDS. COGGS, BORKOWSKI, JOHNSON, HAMILTON, STAMPER, SPIKER, PÉREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, DODD

Resolution recognizing Isaac N. Coggs on the occasion of his 100th birthday.

WHEREAS,

ISAAC N. COGGS

passed away on April 8, 1973 at the age of 52 but his spirit and legacy live on as he is remembered on the anniversary of his 100th birthday; and

WHEREAS, Isaac Coggs was born in Muskogee, OK in 1920 where he graduated from Manual Training High School, and furthered his education by attending the University of Wisconsin-Madison where he was a member of the Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity and graduated from the university in 1948; and

WHEREAS, Isaac Coggs proudly served his country in the U.S. Army during World War II; and

WHEREAS, Isaac Coggs was an accountant who served as President of the Northside Milwaukee Businessmen's Association, was a member of the YMCA Board, American Legion, and Disabled American Veterans; and

WHEREAS, Isaac Coggs was a part of the Wisconsin State Assembly from 1952-1964 where he introduced a Human Rights bill and advocated for civil rights, and after his time in the legislature, he became the first African American Milwaukee County Board Supervisor and served from 1964-1968; and

WHEREAS, Isaac Coggs was a pastor, farmer, and business owner, and he was a cherished husband, father, brother, and uncle; and

WHEREAS, The legacy of Isaac Coggs as a civil rights leader and history maker continues as the anniversary of his 100th birthday is celebrated; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes Isaac N. Coggs in the celebration of his 100th birthday and extends gratitude for the work he accomplished as a civil rights leader and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the family and friends of Isaac N. Coggs in recognition of his 100th birthday.

Introduced by Common Council members Milele A. Coggs, Mark A. Borkowski, Cavalier Johnson, Ashanti Hamilton, Russell W. Stamper, II, Scott Spiker, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on June 16, 2020.