BY ALDS. ZAMARRIPA, COGGS, HAMILTON, STAMPER, SPIKER, BORKOWSKI, DODD, PÉREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON

Resolution recognizing the month of June 2020 as LGBT Pride Month in the City of Milwaukee

WHEREAS,

PRIDE MONTH

is recognized during the month of June to foster an atmosphere of inclusion, acceptance, and celebration to the LGBT community; and

WHEREAS, Wisconsin has a committed history of being at the forefront of supporting equality for all its citizens, and in February 1982, Wisconsin made history when Governor Lee Sherman Dreyfus signed the nation's first state law protecting lesbians and gays from discrimination in employment, housing, and public accommodations; and

WHEREAS, In the intervening years, tremendous advancements have been made with respect to equitable treatment of lesbians, gay men, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) persons both in Wisconsin and throughout the nation, and in June 2014, same-sex couples were legally able to marry in Wisconsin, and the United States Supreme Court affirmed the equal right to marriage for same-sex couples in all 50 states in June 2015; and

WHEREAS, Wisconsin has elected the first openly LGBT member of the United States Senate, and the Wisconsin state legislature has five openly LGBT members; and

WHEREAS, Despite these advances, LGBT people continue to face discrimination and LGBT youth continue to be at increased risk for bullying, substance abuse, depression, homelessness, and suicide; and

WHEREAS, June has become a symbolic month in which LGBT people and their allies have come together in various celebrations of pride, and recognizing Pride Month is an opportunity for all people in the state to affirm their commitment to mutual respect and understanding, and LGBT individuals, along with their families, friends, and neighbors, will be honoring Pride Month in cities and towns across the state, including Milwaukee, Madison, Green Bay, La Crosse, Beloit, and Superior; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee recognizes June 2020 as Pride Month in Milwaukee; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the Milwaukee LGBT Community Center.

Introduced by Common Council members JoCasta Zamarripa, Milele A. Coggs, Ashanti Hamilton, Russell W. Stamper, II, Scott Spiker, Mark A. Borkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, and Cavalier Johnson and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on June 16, 2020.