BY ALDS. RAINEY, PEREZ, HAMILTON, COGGS, SPIKER, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, LEWIS, JOHNSON, DODD

Resolution expressing condolences to the family of George Floyd, who passed from this life on May 25, 2020.

WHEREAS,

GEORGE FLOYD

passed from this life on May 25, 2020 at the age of 46; and

WHEREAS, George Floyd was born in Fayetteville, NC, was raised in Houston, and in 2014, moved to Minneapolis as a fresh start; and

WHEREAS, George Floyd was a talented athlete and grew up playing football and basketball, and was recruited to play basketball at South Florida College where he was a student from 1993 to 1995, and not only an athlete, he also showcased a different side of his talents by joining the Hip-Hop group called Screwed Up Click in Houston; and

WHEREAS, George Floyd, often described as a gentle giant, was known as a protector and provider, and his character was defined by his personable and giving nature, and he moved to Minneapolis to seek out opportunity to grow as a better person and father; and

WHEREAS, George Floyd died needlessly on May 25, 2020 at the hands of a Minneapolis Police Officer; and

WHEREAS, George Floyd's life will be appreciated in its fullness and he will forever be loved and remembered as the loving son, father, brother, family member, and friend who will live on throughout the lives of his family and his community, and his death has sparked global discussion and efforts on finding ways to create better community policing and police-community relations, and to further bring justice against police misconduct and corruption; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith offers its sincere condolences to the family and friends of George Floyd, and notes the continuing struggle against racial oppression, and bias in this country; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the family of George Floyd.

Introduced by Common Council members Khalif J. Rainey, José G. Pérez, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Chantia Lewis, Scott Spiker, Cavalier Johnson and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on June 16, 2020.