## BY ALDS. KOVAC, RAINEY, PEREZ, HAMILTON, COGGS, SPIKER, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, LEWIS, JOHNSON, DODD

Resolution expressing support and recognition for an accomplished woman, Kay Baldwin.

## WHEREAS,

## **KAY BALDWIN**

dedicated a substantial portion of her life to the betterment of the life of her neighborhood as a founder and longtime President of the Murray Hill Neighborhood Association (MHNA); and

**WHEREAS,** Kay Baldwin's efforts have led to the creation of a markedly effective organization that has provided a forum for the clear and concise expression of resident opinion dating from the founding of the MHNA in the year 2000; and

**WHEREAS,** Kay Baldwin's effective leadership of the MHNA has ensured that her neighborhood would be protected from quality of life disruptions brought about by increased enrollment at UW-Milwaukee, through the establishment of vital relationships with both the University and the City of Milwaukee; and

**WHEREAS,** Kay Baldwin's persistent efforts led to policy changes by both the City and the University which have fostered a more harmonious and respectful quality of life for all Murray Hill residents; and

**WHEREAS,** Kay Baldwin and the MHNA membership's diligent efforts included beautification projects, parking agreements, plant exchanges, and block to block cleanup programs; and

*WHEREAS,* Kay Baldwin, through her intelligent, personable and caring character, has proven to be so much more than a good neighbor; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes Kay Baldwin for her excellent community involvement with the MHNA, and expresses its thanks for her valuable contributions to her neighborhood and the City of Milwaukee; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Kay Baldwin.

Introduced by Common Council members Nik Kovac, Khalif J. Rainey, José G. Pérez, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Chantia Lewis, Scott Spiker, Cavalier Johnson and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on June 16, 2020.