BY ALDS. DODD, JOHNSON, SPIKER, HAMILTON, COGGS, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, PEREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, DODD, MURPHY

Resolution congratulating Laura M. Bergner on her retirement from the City Attorney's Office.

WHEREAS,

LAURA M. BERGNER

retired on May 29, 2020 after more than 29 years of dedicated service with the City of Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Laura M. Bergner served in a variety of positions in the Milwaukee City Attorney's Office, most recently as an Administrative Specialist Senior, and earned respect citywide as an effective administrator well-versed in all aspects of City government; and

WHEREAS, Laura M. Bergner displayed exceptional work ethic and good judgment throughout her many years at the City Attorney's Office, proving herself to be an invaluable asset to the office; and

WHEREAS, Laura M. Bergner became a valuable resource to every staff member in the City Attorney's Office and to many public officials and employees throughout City government, and was an indispensable assistant and friend to former City Attorney Grant Langley and his deputies; and

WHEREAS, Laura M. Bergner graced the City Attorney's Office with her good and pointed humor, her willingness to assist the staff, and utilized vast quantities of "tough love" and suffering no fools, and is profoundly missed by her colleagues and coworkers; and

WHEREAS, Laura M. Bergner established a reputation for honesty and integrity, always acting in a professional, yet firm manner, no matter the circumstances, and served as an outstanding employee and exemplary citizen; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Laura M. Bergner on her retirement from the City Attorney's Office, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community, and wishes her a long and happy retirement; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Laura M. Bergner.

Introduced by Common Council members Nikiya Dodd, Cavalier Johnson, Scott Spiker, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey and Michael J. Murphy and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on May 27, 2020.