BY ALDS. BAUMAN, MURPHY, HAMILTON, COGGS, JOHNSON, PEREZ, SPIKER, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, LEWIS, RAINEY, DODD

Resolution expressing condolences to the family and friends of Dr. Joseph P. Daniels.

WHEREAS,

DR. JOSEPH P. DANIELS

passed from this life on February 11, 2020 and funeral services were held for family and friends on February 17, 2020, at Church of the Gesu on the Marquette University campus; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Joseph P. Daniels was born in Muncie, Indiana, on August 24, 1959 and graduated from Ball State University with a bachelor's degree in business economics and political science in 1981, earned a master's degree in economics from Indiana University in 1987 and received a Ph.D. in economics from Indiana University in 1992; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Joseph P. Daniels was a fixture on the Marquette University campus for 30 years, first as a professor of economics and then as the Keyes Dean of Business Administration where he inspired students his entire career as a mentor and educator and made an indelible impact on the field of economics as a master scholar; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Joseph P. Daniels was the beloved husband of Lora Daniels for 39 years the loving and nurturing father of Bill Daniels, Leigh Tiberi and Wesley Daniels and a devoted father-in-law to Angela Daniels and Michael Tiberi; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Joseph P. Daniels was a stage four cancer survivor who beat the odds and lived cancer-free for 14 years, and a devout Catholic who lived Marquette's mission every day and who truly served as a man for and with others; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith expresses its condolences to the family and friends of Dr. Joseph P. Daniels and mourns with deep sorrow the passing of this upstanding man; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the family of Dr. Joseph P. Daniels.

Introduced by Common Council members Robert J.Bauman, Michael J. Murphy, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Cavalier Johnson, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, José G. Pérez, Scott Spiker, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on March 3, 2020